Book Review – The Chieftain by Margaret Mallory

TheChieftain

The Chieftain is the final story in a 4-book series I’ve purchased as soon as each story hit the shelves. I would have bought them for the covers alone, but after reading book #1, The Guardian, I was hooked. I had to know how the stories would end for these four fearless Highland warriors. (and I’ll tell you a secret—I don’t read many stories about Scottish clans. I think I need to read more, because this one pulled me in big time.)

This final story is Connor MacDonald’s. As the Chieftain of his clan, he must be strong, keep the clan strong, and marry for the good of the clan. That self-imposed edict leaves Ilysa, the keeper of his castle and the woman who loves him but doesn’t have the connections to be a “good” match, without much hope.

This story is a romance, but it’s so steeped in history that it feels like more. I followed clan happenings as much as I did the relationship between Connor and Ilysa. Margaret Mallory made these people seem real to me. In fact, I was in tears as this story wound down. It was a glorious finish. I’m both sad that it’s over and happy about the resolution. I think this is a series I will read over and over again.

Here’s the blurb from the author’s website:

THE RETURN OF THE HIGHLANDERS: BOOK 4

Four fearless warriors return to the Highlands to claim their lands and legacies. But all their trials on the battlefield can’t prepare them for their greatest challenge yet: winning the hearts of four willful Scottish beauties.

A WARRIOR’S HEART

Connor, chieftain of the MacDonalds of Sleat, holds the fate of his people in his hands. Rival clans are plotting to take over his lands, and duty determines whom he will fight, trust . . . even marry. Seeking guidance, Connor turns to Ilysa, a young lass with the gift of foresight, who reveals an approaching danger-and a passion that burns only for him. But the warrior must make a powerful marriage alliance, and Ilysa’s bloodline is far too humble.

With her powers to heal and see evil where others cannot, beautiful Ilysa dresses plainly, speaks softly, and loves her chieftain from afar. Yet when Connor finally stokes the embers of desire that have so long burned within her, Ilysa feels bliss unlike any she’s ever known. Now as he is forced to place duty before happiness, Ilysa senses Connor is in grave peril. Can she find a way to prove she is the woman he needs by his side?

And a link if you want to read more:   http://www.margaretmallory.com/index.html

14 responses to “Book Review – The Chieftain by Margaret Mallory

  1. I’m another huge fan of Margaret Mallory’s and was hooked from her first book. This is a five start plus read and the ONLY thing I find I had trouble with is I couldn’t put it down. It needs a warning *** dangerous to dinner *** put something in the crock pot as you’ll be turning just one more page as dinner burns.

  2. Oooh, another one for the TBR pile. And I agree about the covers, Laurie 🙂 I think I’ll head on over to Amazon right now ….

  3. … and the book is on its way to me 🙂 Really looking forward to reading.

  4. No read Margaret Mallory but judging by that cover I’m now tempted. He can come and rescue me any time. (Okay, Kit, that’s enough of that!) Have added to my Must be Read pile. Thanks, Laurie.

  5. I’ve read a couple of hers and I think one was in this series. I’m not able to bring the name to the front of my brain right now. It was def. a Highlander story. I enjoyed it.

    • She’s done two series. The first in England and this one in Scotland. The four books are The Guardian, The Sinner, The Warrior, and this one, The Chieftain. I loved all the guys and Connor was the most emotionally powerful for me. But I think I’ll always have a soft spot for Alex (The Sinner). Ahhhh!

      • the one I read was Scotland. I’ve got to see I can find it to see the name- but I think it was the warrior. The heroine had been married before and was from a rival clan. Does that sound like it?

  6. Yep, it sure sounds like that is Duncan and Moira’s story. If you’ve read that one, you’ll love Connor’s story. 🙂

  7. Thank you so much for the lovely review! I’m sitting in a hospital waiting room waiting for my dad to get out of surgery and wanted you to know that your kind words about my books really helped on a tough day. It means a lot to know you enjoyed this series enough to plan to re-read the books. Thanks. 🙂

    Margaret

    • Oh dear. I hope every goes well for your father. I’m sure we’re all sending prayers your way. And you are welcome, but I don’t feel like I did the story justice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

