International Women’s Day

Today is International Women’s Day. It’s held every year on March 8th and I’m a bit stymied as to how I did not know that. Hmmm. My head must be buried pretty deep in that sand, huh? There’s even a website devoted to it:

International Women’s Day website

This day is a global celebration of the economic, political, and social achievements of women and there are even countries who consider this a national holiday, like China and Russia. It has its roots in the Suffragettes and their struggle to right the inequalities where women are concerned, so it’s been around since the early 1900’s.

So today, I celebrate each and every one of you, my friends, family, and readers. We are strong, and we are amazing. I thank you for being my sisters in, well, everything!

As for you men, check back around the 19th of November and we’ll give you your nod. 🙂

14 responses to “International Women’s Day

  1. That we are!!!!

  2. We’ve come a long way. I just finished a historical western where the heroine was active in the Suffragettes.

  3. Back at ya, babe!! Love all the women in my life- the ones who want me in theirs anyway. LOL! I’m glad you’re saving a date for the men, Laurie!

    And yeah, Lavada, we owe a lot to the sufferagettes, don’t we?

  4. Yikes. I’d better mark that on my calendar so I blog about the guys, hadn’t I. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Don’t bury the lead | Enchanted Seashells…Confessions of a Tugboat Captain's Wife

  6. Valerie J. Patterson

    Women should be celebrated every day, I say!! 😛

  7. I didn’t know that either, Laurie, but certainly return the sentiment.

  8. Pingback: International Women’s Day | Not the Family Business!

  9. Pingback: More inequality for Dutch women | Dear Kitty. Some blog

  10. Women of the world unite – yeah! Sorry no photo showing of me, I am here. Have new laptop and haven’t quite mastered the ins and outs. Oh to be a youngster and know all about these things. Have a job even mastering my cell phone!

  11. Pingback: International Men’s Day | Over The Backyard Fence

Leave a Reply

