What’s In Store for 2013

So, another new year is upon us, but I’m not making any resolutions. I can never keep them. Instead, I have decided to make plans. Plans for things I want to achieve this year, plans for things that could happen perhaps this, or maybe next year, or whenever; a sort of bucket list, but I don’t want to call it that. I prefer to call it my dreams list, as some of the items on there although achievable, I can’t honestly say I am ever going to make them come true. But you never know…

The first plan is to see my novel Whitestones finally published during 2013 by ThornBerry Publishing. We’re aiming for April/May, but it may be June or July, depending on how soon I can finish the final rewrite and agree on the cover.

The second major plan is to actually get down and do some writing on my own books. I’ve several started but due to procrastination and business getting in the way, I haven’t actually written a single word towards any of my novels now for two years, so 2013 is going to be a “me” year.

Another plan is organise and host a writing workshop-cum-authors’ day with some of my fellow ThornBerry authors – a chance for people to meet a group of us who are based in the Bristol region to talk about our books and lead a few workshops on writing etc. The plan is to keep it low key, simple, but most of all fun.

Then there is the plan to get away for a few days to Spain, to visit my brother and sister-in-law.

I have great plans for the garden, too. There’s lots of shrubs I want to cut down, move, plant, and several flowerbeds that need revitalising and rejigging. More perennials to buy and I simply must make the final decisions as to whether I’m going to keep the lawn or not. It’s small, a silly triangular shape on account of the shape of my back garden being a corner plot, and a pain to mow, although my husband always does it for me. I don’t think he trusts me with his machinery.

These are the easy things but there are one or two items on my list that will certainly have to wait until at least next year or longer unless I happen to become a millionaire, or win a grand competition. As you are probably aware by now, I love to travel. There are a few places I would love to go to if the opportunity ever arose.

  • Northern_LightsI would give anything to be able to see the Northern Lights in all their full Technicolor glory. Although they are visible this far south on the rare occasion, I have never seen them and really want to see this spectacular display of nature.
  • Despite hating the cold and snow, I would love to go to Iceland or Greenland, Alaska or Canada to see glaciers at the sea’s edge. I’ve seen several glaciers in Austria, high on the mountains, now I want to experience the other end of them.
  • I would adore seeing America, especially the Grand Canyon and San Francisco.
  • I wouldn’t mind a trip to Australia to see the sights there, climb up Sydney Harbour Bridge, gaze at Ayer’s Rock and swim in a billabong.
  • imagesBut I’ve saved the best until last here. You see, I am an avid star gazer. Not horoscopes, but the real McCoy – the stars above. How I would dearly love to go somewhere high up and unpolluted by light and witness the heavens in their full unadulterated glory. To see galaxies and supernova through a high powered telescope up in Hawaii or somewhere. It’s not much to ask, is it?

None of the items on my list are impossible, and with a bit of luck and a lot of planning, perhaps one day I will be in the lovely position of having ticked them all off.

 Good luck in whatever you have planned this year. Hope it’s something exciting.

10 responses to “What’s In Store for 2013

  1. Plans, eh? I’m calling mine goals and, although I’ve not put travel goals on my list, I’d like to adopt yours. Especially the Northern Lights. I’ve seen them once and would love to see them again. You might combine Iceland and the Northern Lights? Oh, one bit of information. We’re at the zenith of a solar activity schedule in 2013 and the chances of seeing the Northern Lights should be better this year than in the last several.

    • Oh, Laurie, I do hope we see them here in southern England. Trouble here is that whenever there is a celestial event, it is always cloudy and we see nothing! Yes Iceland and the Northern Lights would be perfect. Perhaps one year. 🙂

  2. Like Laurie, I call mine goals. With dreams thrown but not so much on a list. I’ve seen the Northern Lights once here. Like you we are too far south and it’s usually cloudy. We’d love for you to come over to America. Cruise and Ferries leave from Seattle to Alaska and we are only about 60 miles south of Seattle.

    Wishing you a very productive, and happy 2013. And, may all your dreams (plans) come true.

  3. Valerie J. Patterson

    You have the right idea, Kit, and I like your plans very much. I hope you get them all in when the timing is perfect for you! Best wishes for a superior book launch in the very near future! 😛

  4. Enjoyed reading your post, Kit. I call mine goals too, and have a rather long dream list with the Northern Lights featured on it. There was a trip at end of November run by the local paper, and that was a day trip (by air) to see the Lights. It cost fifty quid, but of course there were no guarantees of seeing anything. I missed it, but would have taken the chance 🙂

  5. Sounds like some great plans to me. I hope you get to them all. The writing goal makes me happy. I want you to get more of your stories out there- from your blog posts, I can tell your stories will be awesome!

  6. Aaawwwwh, thanks, Jillian. Am now blushing. So pleased you enjoy the posts. One does one’s best.

Leave a Reply

