Breakfast Casserole

Merry Christmas Eve!

poinsettaBy now, hopefully your shopping is done, your presents are wrapped, and you’ve finished your holiday baking. All that’s left now is to enjoy the time with family and friends.

And to eat, of course. My family has a huge brunch each year.  In honor of that tradition, I thought I’d post my go-to breakfast casserole recipe. It’s easy to make, even if you have to make more than one pan. So it’s a great recipe for a group.

Breakfast Casserole

  • One package O’Brien (or regular) hash browns from the fridge section of the grocery store. I find them where the eggs are in my store.
  • 1 pound sausage
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 onion
  • 2 teaspoons seasoning salt
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 10 eggs, lightly beaten
  • salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease or spray a 13 X 9 baking dish. Brown the sausage and drain. (Note: this can be done the day before to save time.)

Melt the butter in a frying pan. Stir potatoes and onion into pan and cook until potatoes are browned. Sprinkle with seasoning salt.

Place potatoes in baking dish. Cover with sausage. Sprinkle cheese over sausage. Top with the eggs, then season with salt and pepper to taste. Bake 30 minutes or until eggs are thoroughly cooked.

We use this recipe at our family cabin weekend in January and I make one dish with onions and one without. Two 13 x 9 pans feed 15 of us with a few leftovers. Also, you can substitute bacon for the sausage. This is a recipe that’s easy to play around with.

Enjoy! And from our “house” to yours:

MERRY CHRISTMAS!

treex

9 responses to “Breakfast Casserole

  1. Yum, Laurie. Sounds delicious. I’d have to make one with meat sausage and one veggie option for our house, but I’ll bet they’ll be equally tasty. Thanks for sharing and a very Happy Christmas from my house to yours 🙂

    • I’m quite certain they would both be tasty. I haven’t tried a veggie one yet, but it would be an good experiment, I think.
      It’s Christmas Eve. Time for the fun to start. Enjoy!

  2. Pingback: Kielbasa « Rumblings of an Ol’ Curmudgeon

  3. Sounds great! I’m going to try it. Hope you had a fantastic Christmas

  4. Sounds yummy, a bit like the Spanish omelettes I cook and finish off in the oven although I’ve never thought to use sausages before. Must give it a try. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Pingback: Breakfast Casserole | Growing Christian Woman

Leave a Reply

