Mush by Linda Shook

Linda Shook is in the house! I love this blog, but will explain why in the comments. For now, he-e-e-e-e-r-e-‘s Linda! 🙂

I grew up in the days before Lucky Charms, Cocoa Puffs and Apple Jacks.

During my growing up days MUSH was the staple for breakfast almost 365 days of the year.

If it wasn’t Quaker Oatmeal, it was Cream of Wheat, Ralston Purina, Wheatena or Malt~O~Meal.

My mom would make a big pot of MUSH every morning, especially during the winter months.  Since we had our cow Daisy, we had our own cream to put on the MUSH and she would put out either granulated sugar, brown sugar, molasses or honey to also put on the MUSH.

I checked with my brother (he’s 8½ years younger than me) and he remembers a lot of MUSH also. But while we were discussing this subject we each remembered  an occasional bowl of Cheerios, Rice Krispies or Wheaties….but only during the summer months.  

Also on the weekends mom would sometimes make pancakes, french toast or eggs, bacon and toast.  But for the most part it was MUSH almost every morning.

The funny thing is, I can’t remember if I did the same thing to my kids and quite frankly…I’m afraid to ask them. 

I do know that as an adult I do not eat MUSH.  I put Quaker oatmeal in cookies and in my meatloaf…..but I don’t eat it for breakfast!

10 responses to “Mush by Linda Shook

  1. As a kid we didn’t eat much MUSH because it was a staple with my dad growing up. They were really poor and at times that was all they had to eat. Like breakfast, lunch and dinner. For him it was corn meal mush. They would walk along the road and glean it from the harvested fields. He said his favorite way to eat it was fried and from time to time he’d make up a pan of it, cut it up after it had cooled and set and fry it for us. Of course we had butter and syrup or honey on ours. As a kid he wasn’t so lucky.

    Sure is another thing to be thankful for this holiday season. Thanks for another great post.

  2. Hi, Linda! Hi, Lavada. The reason I loved this blog so much is that there are things I remember from my childhood that I have never, ever, been able to eat or drink. To stretch the milk for a family of 7 (5 kids, 2 parents), mixed whole milk with non-fat dry milk and water. To date, I’ve not been able to drink anything more transparent than 2%. 🙂 Then there were the brussel sprouts my father made me sit at the table with until I ate them…at 9PM! And the glass none of us would touch because that’s the one we drank our ration of whatever kept us healthy. I think it was castor oil?
    Our mom did an amazing job of raising us to become healthy, loving adults. But I’ve never forced my kids to eat brussel sprouts. lol

  3. My dad served in WWII so I remember that we never had lima beans, canned fruit cocktail and SPAM! Those three foods were forbidden in our house. My mom’s dad was raised by German parents that came to the USA in time for him to be born here. He grew up eating lots of German food and consequently a lot of it spilled over into my mom;s childhood. When I was growing up she cooked a lot of sauerkraut and once I was old enough to decide I didn’t like it, she never forced me to eat it. She was wise in realizing that sauerkraut was not necessary for me to grow up healthy.

  4. I’m the odd one out here. I love sauerkraut, and most German foods, grew up on most of them as my mum’s German. Never could eat cooked oatmeal for breakfast, it was always semolina for brekkie in our house during winter, with a few sultanas occasionally. Still love it. What I love most is all the German Christmas fayre which nowadays is readily available here in the UK. As for spam, was national staple usually as spam fritters. Never enjoyed. Was never forced to eat anything as children although threatened with force feeding many a time as I was a sickly child who hated most food and was very skinny as a child. How times, and me, have changed!

    • I am ambivalent about sauerkraut. I only like the stuff my husband makes, not the store bought stuff. I hope you get to enjoy your German Christmas fare this year, Kit. It sounds like there are a lot of warm memories wrapped around it. 🙂

  5. Not a fan of mush either. LOL! I’m also not a grits fan. I live in the south, but grits don’t pass these lips- and neither does mush!

  6. Valerie J. Patterson

    No fan of hot cereal of any type. But loved my dad’s homemade pancakes and my mom’s french toast! I do however like sauerkraut. 😛

Leave a Reply

