Thirty Days of Thanks by Valerie J. Patterson

If you’re a facebook user, then you’ve no doubt seen the countless daily posts that began November first and will end November thirtieth.  These are the “30 days of Thanks” posts.  I’ve been a facebook user since 2009, but this is the first year I have participated in this “tradition”.  It’s not that I had nothing to be thankful for in the past, but rather this year I am feeling especially thankful, and therefore have joined the throng.

2012  has been a year of great change for me.  It has also been a year of great blessings.  As you may know, I had some health issues for the first 5 months, also within that time, I took over the care of my 80-year old aunt who has Alzheimer’s, and moved her down to the city where I live.  In the 5 months since then, I’ve spent more time with my aunt than I would have been able to do had her caregiver not quit and had I not moved her here.  So I am thankful for warm sunny days spent in the gazebo sitting on the swing with her and talking and laughing and sharing our lives on a regular basis.  I am thankful for tight hugs and a regular “argument” of who loves who more.  I am thankful for Saturday afternoons eating Sundaes at the local Dairy Queen.  And I am thankful for afternoon BINGO games that I have had an occasion to join in and play beside my aunt.

In other areas of my life, I am thankful for an incredible husband who is warm, loving, caring, generous, and who makes me laugh, dries my tears, and would give me the sun, moon, and stars if I asked for them.

I am thankful for my family, my friends, my church, and the preteens in my Sunday school class.  I am thankful for the innocent giggles and smiles of my nephews, Isaiah and Brenden.  I am thankful for my creativity and the success I’ve had as a writer.

The above are all huge blessings in my life and greatly worthy of mention.  But in my facebook posts, I am thankful for the little blessings, too–they all add up and make my life so much better.

I am thankful for the remote starter in my car as I now get into a frost-free and warm car in the mornings.  I am thankful for warm, cozy blankets, hot chocolate (in many yummy flavors), snow angels, and gentle rain showers.  I am thankful for vacations with the bubbly hubby, walks on the beach, picnics in the park, and peanut butter sandwiches.  I’m thankful for ice cold milk, hot showers, twinkly Christmas tree lights, and Oreos.  I am thankful for penguins.

It seems so easy to think about what we all have to be thankful for on Thanksgiving, but I have found it is a very good thing indeed to take time–say, 30-days–to ponder who and what we have in our lives to give thanks for.  It’s not just the big things that count, that matter, but also the little things and the things we often take for granted.  What are you thankful for?  Could you fill up a month of days in giving thanks?  I’ll bet you could!

I hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving whatever you plan on doing to celebrate.  I hope your holiday season is blessed in more ways than you ever thought possible, too.

Until next time, take care and enjoy!

15 responses to “Thirty Days of Thanks by Valerie J. Patterson

  1. I agree with the little things to be thankful for. There are so many things that just make life a little easier!

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Absolutely, Vicki! And I usually take them for granted. Thank you for stopping by to read and comment. Hope your Thanksgiving is blessed!

  2. I’m grinning from ear to ear reading your post. I had posted a guest blog today accidentally, but pulled it, moving it to next week when I realized I was encroaching on your day. I’m so glad I did because your blog today is very uplifting. I’m with you. There are so many things to be thankful for. Family, health, not being in the path of some of the weather that’s hit our world lately. But the small things are what make me smile. The last rose of the season sitting in a vase on my windowsill, a stranger opening a door for me, a smile. So many things. Thanks for helping us to remember.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      The kindnesses of strangers are always little (and sometimes BIG) blessings. There have been times when I’ve had a bad morning but something a complete stranger does turns the day around. Makes me stop grumbling! 😛

      So glad you enjoyed the post, Laurie. Can’t wait to read the guest blog this coming week! Hope you have a wonderful family holiday!

  3. Valerie, thank you for the beautiful post to remind us of what a good life we have. I feel thankful a warm cozy bed at night. Especially on cold rainy nights when I know there are kittens, puppies and people who don’t.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Yes indeed, Lavada, we need to be thankful for roofs over our heads. Home is something else we just assume will always be there, eh?

      Thank you for reading. I know this holiday season will be especially difficult for you and your family, but I also know it will be full of love and hugs and blessings, too.

  4. What a wonderful post! I hope this year goes smoother for you; you sound like you deserve it!

  5. Valerie J. Patterson

    Thank you so much Tonette! I’m looking forward to 2013 and hoping it is calmer! Thanksgiving blessings to you and your family! I appreciate you reading and commenting. 😛

  6. Lovely thoughts for this month of Thanksgiving. Busy times!!! I haven’t participated in this FB tradition yet but I was pleasantly surprised yesterday to be the thing (person) that someone was thankful for- my great niece named me as her blessing. It meant the world to me.

  7. What a wonderful post. This is certainly a new tradition on me and one that should be taken up by everyone. It is has left a warm smile on my lips. Wishing you a happy Thanksgiving and hope you have a much to enjoy in the forthcoming year.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Thank you, Kit! It is a very good tradition, and one that really make you sit and think about all the good things in your life…things, moments, people. I hope the holiday season is especially good to you and your family.

  8. So enjoyed reading your post. What a lovely thing to do, not only throughout November but every day too. Hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

  9. Valerie J. Patterson

    Thank you, Tricia. I don’t know about anyone else, but I know that sometimes I get too wrapped up in what’s front and center in my life that I forget to think about all the good there is around me. This 30-days of thanks has caused me to take stock in my blessings! I hope the holiday season is full of blessings for you and your family…and your new “student” 😛

Leave a Reply

