A Room With a View

As you know, I visited my son and future daughter-in-law in London recently- they actually live near Greenwich at Deptford Bridge but close enough, right? While I was there, we took a four day side trip to Edinburgh and I fell absolutely, positively in love with it. It’s gorgeous and the people are so wonderfully friendly. I adored, adored it.

We arrived by train and hoofed it out of the station toward Old Town. We climbed a steep hill and as we turned the corner, I told the fiancee that I wasn’t sure about the cobbled streets and the hills and my klutzy self-(I’m prone to breaking and spraining things). I also said I wasn’t sure about the distance between Holyrood Palace and Edinburgh Castle because it looked like a long hike. She laughed and said, “Remember, it’s the Royal Mile so it’s not too long.” Point taken. LOL!

We turned the next corner and I gasped and said, “Now I know why J.K. Rowling wrote Harry Potter. How could she live in this place and not be inspired?” I pointed to a turret on a building and added, “Can’t you just imagine a wizard living there?” Then I pointed to another building. “Or a witch there? Or a goblin down there?” It truly, truly is a magical place and I’ve already written an 8500 word short story based there.

When we checked into the hotel, we got the top floor and imagine my delight when I opened the curtains to that very turreted place I imagined the wizard in directly across from me. I also could turn a smidge and see Arthur’s Seat, the traditional home of Camelot and the place where my son proposed to his fiancee in September 2011. What a view. Here’s some pictures to share that cool room with a view and if you ever get to Scotland, I guarantee you’ll love it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

20 responses to “A Room With a View

  1. The architecture is indeed beautiful..

  2. Loved my time in Scotland, although I only spent a day in Edinburgh. If you have time, try to get out to Skye. It’s lovely country up there (when the weather holds up)

    • Thanks Skycastles. That’s on my list of places for the next trip. I got as far as Inverness and Loch Ness this time. Loved the highlands, too. Just an enchanting country everywhere I went.

  3. We didn’t get to Edinburgh when we were in the Isles. Maybe next time. It looks like great fodder for stories (as you mentioned JK Rowling). I’; tglook forward to the short story you wrote around the visit. I do remember those chimneys from our visit to the British Isles. Very Mary Poppins. πŸ™‚

  4. I’m so glad we have your travels to enjoy with you. It makes me want to pace the suitcase.

  5. I have so many friends in the U.K. plus a cousin who is very dear to me. I would love to go there but I’m not a fan of flying, especially the 8-10 hours it takes to get over there.

  6. Incredible! Even I am inspired from here! I am so happy to see someone who truly appreciates getting to these places. I am so glad you had a great time.(And share it with us!)

    • Glad they inspired you, too Tonette. The pictures don’t do the place justice at all so I’m thrilled you got inspired by them. I do appreciate the great places I’ve been and seem and enjoyed. I’m very blessed.

  7. You’ve wet my appetite for a trip to Edinburgh, Jillian. And I’m so on board for a meet up if you Stateside gals are ever up for it πŸ™‚

  8. Smashing photos. I love those turrets on Scottish buildings. I’ve never been to Edinburgh but got to Glasgow and Inverness some years back. Fell in love with Inverness and stayed in hotel with turrets. So pleased you enjoyed your time here. And perhaps one day us Backyard Girls can all catch up for real. I’m game!

    • That sounds like a grand plan, Kit. I got to Inverness and looked for Nessie this time. It’s beautiful up there. Didn’t get to spend the night but did get to ride a boat on the loch. I was so excited to see everything I got to see. A splendid country for sure.

  9. Valerie J. Patterson

    Enjoyed the post and the photos, Jillian. It sounds like both a breathtaking and inspiration view! I love it when something on a trip turns into a short story or a book. Good for you! That story will always be special to you. Thanks so much for the pictures! πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

