Pictures, Then and Now

I was sorting through photo albums a while back and taking a wonderful walk down memory lane in the process. I love taking pictures. I especially love this new digital world we live in, where we can take as many pictures as we want and the only resources used up are our time and camera (or computer) storage space. Pretty nifty, if you ask me.

Photographs themselves have changed so much. Here’s one of my grandfather in the sepia tone of olden-days that we try so hard to mimic in modern times.

 When I was a baby, black and white photos had those crinkled edges. Remember? And yes, this is me as a child.  🙂

 Then it was the slightly washed out color tones of the 70’s and 80’s, like this pic. Yep, me again. I’m on the left, ready to go to Junior Prom with a couple friends of mine. (By the way, my mother made that dress for me. 🙂 )

Now, the colors are more vibrant than ever, like this one taken last year with my brothers and sisters.

So it’s not just the subject matter that helps to date photographs. It’s also the colors (or the lack of them). Over the years, even my photo storage has changed. I started off putting everything in those sticky sheet albums that are so bad for the pictures. Then I became a scrap-booker, designing pages around the pictures. I went to a lot of “scrap nights” at the hobby store and it felt like the old-time quilting bees, where we all sat around working on projects and talking about life, love, and the pursuit of happiness.

These days, I rarely print pictures I take. I’m not sure how I feel about that. I save them all digitally, on my computer, my external hard drive, and also on DVD. Yes, I’m so scared of losing them I save them in 3 different places. I load them up on our digital frame and watch happy events, picture after picture. It’s not the same as an album, but the memories are just as vivid.

How about you? Do you still print pictures and put them in albums?  Do you prefer that to looking at them on a computer?

I wish you all a picture perfect week!  🙂

15 responses to “Pictures, Then and Now

  1. Oh My Gosh, what a great topic this morning. I don’t print pictures and put them into albums but the kids all love going through the albums so I may do more of what I did for the family reunion last year. I did an online photo book. I used Mix Books at http://www.mixbook.com/but there are a number of different ones out there. It’s sort of like scrap booking. They have hard and soft covers.

    Oh and Laurie you were a cute little girl and I loved the prom picture. I took special note of your fathers picture because I think Mike (grandson) looks like a little kid in uniform and it was encouraging to see your father did too.

    • Thanks. It seemed like a good topic and I sure had fun pulling it all together. I’ve done a photo book online once, but I was disappointed with the frames I used for journalling…a lot of them got cut off by the binding. Have you done photo books where you wrote about the pics? Did you run into any issues or is it just me? lol

  2. Great post, Laurie, and I love the photos. Over the years I’ve collected hundreds of photos and mostly they’re stored in an old suitcase in an upstairs cupboard. I keep meaning to sort them and catalogue them, but it’s one of those things that gets put on the back burner. I have my most special photos in albums and recently nearly all photos are on the computer, taken from digital cameras and phones. This is all very well until something goes wrong which has just happened to me. I took loads of photos of Vinnie last weekend before he went off to ‘rehab’ for a week and had yet to transfer them to the computer. Of course, my phone has broken and now I can’t get the photos 😦 It’s times like these that I wish for the old days!

    • Oh, no! I’m sorry about the phone pics. Any chance they saved to a micro sd card in the phone? Or that a technician can recover them for you? I sure hope so.
      You know, That suitcase of pictures reminds me of a story a friend of a friend wrote that was based around a suitcase found that belonged to someone else. You’ve got a few lifetimes of stories in those pictures, eh? Enjoy!

  3. Brilliant post, Laurie. I love photos and can spend hours going through our collection, non of which are in albums. The worst ones for fading are the polaroid photos from the early 70s. Have many of my daughter as a baby but they are disappearing fast. Reminds me I must scan them in before they are lost forever. I don’t print mine now, thanks to the magic of computers and store all mine on Facebook so if computer goes down, which it did last year, at least I haven’t lost them. Have a stack (well a tin really) full of family ones from way back. Trouble is they aren’t dated and nothing written on the back so there are vast memories of people who are obviously related but whom we know nothing about. Thanks for such an interesting topic today. 🙂

    • Hi, Kit! I completely agree. It’s addicting, looking at photos. I’ve been trying hard to file a Word doc in each photo folder with some particulars about the pictures. Not as good at that as I should be, though.

  4. I love taking pictures. Sometimes by grandkids are ready to hide the camera but as a scrapbooker I’m hoping someday they will really enjoy them!!

  5. Valerie J. Patterson

    Very good topic, Laurie, and what great pics you posted with it. Such a pretty little girl! I love pictures. When Steve and I take a major trip, I create an album around that trip so we can walk through it any time, but I use scrapbooking pages and those teenie tiny photo corners to hold them in place. Lately, I’ve been taking digital picture files to CVS and making picture books. I created my very first one when my oldest nephew graduated from high school. Everyone wanted one! Now I make them for new babies in the family, and for weddings. My latest craze is the canvas pictures created from my digital ones. They look great. You can get them where they look like paintings, too, which give the picture a great appeal! Thanks, Laurie! 😛

  6. I LOVE THIS!!! Such great photos and you’re so adorable in all of them. You’re right -you can almost tell the era of the photos by the colors in the pictures even if you couldn’t tell from the clothes. Cool post, my friend.

  7. Good to hear, Jillian. I have a sister in Philadelphia so we are all keeping an eye on Sandy.

Leave a Reply

