Oatmeal Cookies

I’m not sure we’ve had a recipe on Monday for a while, but I found one I wanted to share. I’ve been searching for good oatmeal cookies and my mother recently unearthed a family recipe that we’re all raving about, so I’m posting it here.

Aunt Vera’s Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 3/4 cup shortening
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 2 cups oatmeal
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Cream shortening and sugar, add beaten eggs. Add dry ingredients and lastly add oatmeal. Mix together. Drop by teaspoon on greased cookie sheet and bake 10-12 minutes at 350 degrees.

This isn’t what I should be posting when I’m trying to lose weight, but sometimes, it’s worth the calories. Yum!

 

7 responses to “Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Oatmeal cookies are my favorite. But I have to put raisins though lately I’ve switched to cranraisins. And, the holidays are coming so this will be good recipe for those cookie bakes.

    • Interesting. Until you mentioned it, I never noticed it didn’t have raisins in the recipe. And I never missed them in the cookies, either. I guess that’s proof the recipe is good, eh?

  2. Thanks for this- I’m hungry – bad Laurie for posting this without sending me the food.

  3. Well, I have most of those ingredients in my store cupboard, so I’ve no excuse but to get baking. My hips do not thank you for it, Laurie! 🙂

  4. Sounds good. I shall definitely be trying these. X

Leave a Reply

