October!!

Yep, it’s October and it’s my day here. I had grand plans to share some photos from prior October fun, but wouldn’t you know it, I left the laptop with all my photos saved in nice little folders at the office. So there went that plan.

So, instead of that yumminess, I thought I’d share an old game I used to play with my kids when they were lap-sitters. Remember the old rhyme where the kiddo sits on your knees and you bounce them as you sing the song, “Ride a cock horsey, go to town, watch your step that you don’t fall down” and when you say down, you open your knees and the child goes down a bit and giggles?

Anyway, I hope you remember because in honor of Halloween month, I’m going to tell you a new one. The rhyme I always sang (and I use the term loosely since my singing voice isn’t the best) is this: “Old lady witch, thought she was rich, picked up a penny and fell in a ditch” – the last word, of course, is when the knees part.

No wonder my kids are warped, right? All that crap about witches and ditches. LOL

Any fun rhyming games you want to share?

10 responses to “October!!

  1. Valerie J. Patterson

    What follows are rhymes my mom used to say:

    3, 6, 9 the goose drank wine
    the monkey sold tobacco on the street car line…

    and

    ock-ah bock-ah soda crocka ock-ah bock-ah boo
    in comes Uncle Sam and out goes Y O U

    and

    1, 2 buckle my shoe
    3, 4 shut the door
    5, 6 pick up sticks
    7, 8 lay them straight, etc….which refers to the working class and the jobs they do.

    Wow. Hadn’t thought of these in years! ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. Never heard your rhyme before, Jillian, nor yours Valerie. We used to do the same with the kids to “Ride a cock horse, to Banbury cross, to see a white lady, on a white horse” and then bounce them up and down even more as if riding. Think the rhyme was to do with Lady Godiva. But the 1, 2 buckle my shoe I remember very well. Only know the 3,6,9 from the “Clapping Song” (in the charts way back – can’t remember who sang it though). Great fun to remember these. Thanks Jillian.

    • I know that one, too, Kit. It’s more of a British poem- I think ours over here was from yours but modified over the years.

      Clapping song sounds like fun! Glad it was fun to remember today.

  3. We rode horse but not so much did the rhymes. Like Valerie I haven’t thought of these in years.

  4. What a great walk down memory lane. I only remember about half of the ones mentioned, but I’m grinning from ear to ear thinking about these simpler times. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Yes, I remember the ‘one, two buckle my shoe’, but never heard of the others. It’s got me thinking though ….

    Fun post, Jillian!

Leave a Reply

