To Everything, There is a Season

Well, September is just about over and Fall is officially here. And, as always, I’m ready for the change in seasons. I love them all, but I think I gravitate most toward the seasons of change, Spring and Fall. There’s a crispness to the air now, cooler days, and less sun.

One of the things I find a natural instinct in the fall is stocking up for bad weather. It must be instinctual because I still feel the need to do this even though the kids are all grown and out on their own. So my husband cleans the freezer right before this time generally, as it’s the emptiest it will be all year. Now is when I start looking for great sales on meat and such to fill it back up.

Last Spring, I posted this picture of my husband’s garden, all primed and ready to go. I should have taken some pictures a month ago to show you the garden in it’s prime. Here’s some I took mid-September on a nice, sunny, warm day. Everything looks a touch deflated as they get watered in the evening, not the morning. 

Most things are done (peas, raspberries, broccoli), but we’re still getting produce from a lot of it (onions, tomatoes, cabbage, and the last of the cucumbers.) This year we canned 14 quarts of peaches and 6 quarts of pears. We’re hoping enough tomatoes ripen to can tomatoes. As well, we’ll have lettuce until the first freeze and Mark’s got a system for wintering it over so it’s the first thing we get produce from in the Spring.

Of course, I’m also still hoping these little guys grow big and orange by Halloween. 🙂

So in spite of all the gray days we’ve had in the Pacific Northwest this summer, we have also gotten enough sunshine to harvest most of my husband’s “crops”. In addition, we got to spend time with friends and family and take some small trips…riding a steam train in Canada, shopping in the Bavarian village of Leavenworth, wine tasting in the warmth of Eastern Washington.

Yep. It’s been a good summer. Now, I’m ready to hunker down. I tend to look at the changing seasons as a good time to set goals. On a professional front, this Autumn needs to be all about writing. I need to get more stories out there.  On a personal one, I hope for continued time to spend with my mother and my father, along with quiet nights with my husband beside the warmth of our wood stove.

I hope your own look back is full of smiles and happiness. And how about the future? What will be your goals for the next three months as we settle into an indoor weather pattern? Whatever they are, I hope your days are filled with peace and warmth.

I’ll leave you with an Irish Blessing I found on a great site called islandireland.com:

May love and laughter light your days,
and warm your heart and home.
May good and faithful friends be yours,
wherever you may roam.
May peace and plenty bless your world
with joy that long endures.
May all life’s passing seasons
bring the best to you and yours!

14 responses to “To Everything, There is a Season

  1. Your blog made me reflect back on the year. I didn’t think Spring would get here and it really didn’t before Summer started. But once the seasons did start they gave us wonderful weather. And, they still are. Our family faced some challenges but having each other makes the difference.

    Thanks for the Irish Blessing. I love all thing Irish.

  2. Not sure about that getting more done. I liked your idea of keeping a to-done list along side of the to-do list. Sometimes the way the todo list grows I can’t see where I’ve been. 🙂

    • It definitely helps. The problem is, I seem to get away from it, then get frustrated and think I’m not accomplishing anything. If I did a to-done list faithfully every day, I’d be a lot less overwhelmed, I think. lol

  3. Until fairly recently I wasn’t a fan of autumn, largely because it preceded winter and I hate winter. But now I really appreciate all the seasons. Must be mellowing with age 🙂 And I do the stocking up thing, too.

    My goals for the next three months are, like you, to get more writing accomplished and spend quality time with hubby exploring some of the UK’s National Trust sites now that we’ve become members.

    • I think it’s more of an appreciation of nature’s majesty than a “mellowing with age”. I refuse to consider age as a factor. lol You’re going to have some fun visiting those sights, Tricia. Are they heritage sights (sights of historical importance) or national parks?

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    I love all the seasons! Each inspire me in different ways, and each separately feed my creativity. I am so thankful that I am able to see the beauty in each one. When you compare them to the seasons of one’s own life, they seem to have far more sense and value.

    I’ve never been one to stock up for winter. Not sure why, but I don’t. Given the fact I have been snowed in a couple times for more than a week, you’d think I would stock up in a big way! 😛

    I intend to do more writing as well. I’ve got to get really stuck into editing my latest book so that I can market it. Life has gotten a tad complicated since moving my Aunt Kay down where I live, but I am chastising myself for allowing it to become an excuse not to write. The bubbly hubby has been after me to find my joy in writing again because in the past it has been a huge source of stress relief!

    Thank you for the Irish blessing. I hope the coming seasons inspire you in ways you never before imagined! 😛

  5. I actually find it quite scare how fast this year has gone. Despite a lousy summer here in the UK our garden has thrived although not enough to keep us self sufficient in veg for the winter. I’ve only truly appreciated all the seasons since taking up painting. I too have promised myself that during the next three months I must make time to concentrate on my own writing and art. Hubby looks after himself and as long as he has the TV and plenty of sports to watch, he’s more than happy. If you hear a lot of thumping, it’s me at the keyboard. Enjoyable post, Laurie and love the blessing. Thank you. 🙂

    • We don’t generally can a lot of stuff to winter over, but we did do peaches and pears and are getting ready to do tomatoes. We’ve been freezing them until we can’t get any more off the plants, then will can all at once. This will be our first time canning tomatoes, so I hope it goes easily. 🙂
      Kit, I forget that you paint. I’m going to have to head over to your website to take another look, as I recall you had some lovely scenes there. Have a great fall painting and writing!

  6. Lovely. The new pumpkins are cute. Can’t wait to see them full grown. I’m glad the garden did so well with the weather you all had this year. It sure has been a weird one all over, hasn’t it?

  7. Valerie J. Patterson

    I knew there was something I wanted to mention and forgot. Jillian’s full-grown pumpkin comment reminded me. Have any of you seen the news story about the little school girl who planted cabbage seeds and grew a 40 pound cabbage, which she turned into soup and fed hundreds of homeless folks? She’s now got a huge garden called Katie’s Krops and she grows tons of food for the homeless and for food cupboards. Currently, she has 6 gardens of her own and 11 more in other states. She was 8 when she planted the cabbage and is now 13. Remarkable!

  8. Valerie J. Patterson

    Oops, wanted to post a link and hit POST before I did it.

    http://www.farmtotableonline.org/2011/09/katies-krops/

    • That is so cool, Valerie. I just took a look at the article. We have a local farm here called Mother Earth Farm that grows produces specifically for the food banks. I love that fresh, wholesome food is getting to people who might not be able to afford it otherwise.

Leave a Reply

