Book Review – The Lucky One by Nicholas Sparks

The cover is from the movie and isn’t the original one. But it’s the one I picked up at Costco. I haven’t seen the movie yet but I like the casting from reading the book. Zac Efron will be perfect for Logan and Taylor Schilling will look great playing opposite him.

I had thought this story might have more war scenes but it doesn’t. And, the ones that are in the story are from Logan’s view and are more a ‘tell’ than a ‘show’. Instead it is a Love story with a capital L.

Mr. Sparks is a skilled writer and has a great team in his publisher and editors. The Lucky One is exceptionally well written. While I appreciate the quality, I go for a storyteller and I love the ‘story’.

It’s predictable though. I don’t want to give too much away but you can see the traumatic event at the end coming. It’s like when the woman goes down those cellar steps and you’re setting there saying “Don’t go, don’t go.”

The heroine is more than a bit naïve. But the grandmother, Nana, makes up for it. She’s sharp as a tack. And Logan —- if I had to have one word for him it would be ‘honorable.’ He’s went through a lot and the story gave me a fuller sense of the non-physical wounds our service men and women endure.

The back of the book says, “ Filled with tender romance and terrific suspense, The Lucky One is an unforgettable story about the surprising paths our lives often take and the power of fate to guide us to true and everlasting love”. I agree with everything but the suspense. It was too predictable for me to describe it as suspense.

I read it while recovering from eye surgery and it was a page-turner for me. Now I’m ready for the movie.

6 responses to “Book Review – The Lucky One by Nicholas Sparks

  1. Oh I just adore Nicholas Sparks books and the films, especially when cast with Kevin Costner (Message in a Bottle). Will certainly be reading this one. Thanks, Lavada, for bringing it to my notice. Hope all well you. 🙂

  2. I can handle predictable if it’s a great story and it sounds like this one is. I, too, have not seen the movie, although it’s on my “to be watched” list. Thanks for recommending the book!

  3. Like Laurie, predictable doesn’t worry me too much if the characters hold up. Like the sound of this book and would want to read it before seeing the movie. Thanks for the heads up, Lavada 🙂

  4. Can’t go there, Lavada. I don’t like his stories. I like happy – he seems to kill off main characters too much for me. Glad you enjoyed it, though and it helped you through the long days of being still. That had to be torture.

Leave a Reply

