Wednesday, Wednesday

I’ll admit it. I’m at a loss for what to blog about today. So, being as it’s hump day, this mid-week day seemed like as good a subject as any, especially since I was born on a Wednesday. I’ve always disliked that, primarily because of that old Mother Goose poem:

Monday’s child is fair of face,
Tuesday’s child is full of grace;
Wednesday’s child is full of woe,
Thursday’s child has far to go;
Friday’s child is loving and giving,
Saturday’s child works hard for its living;
But the child that is born on the Sabbath day
Is bonny and blithe, and good and gay.

Hmmm. It had to be Wednesday for me, eh? Mom couldn’t have had me two hours earlier so I could be full of grace? FYI – I would never wish for her to have been in labor another 22 hours so I could have far to go. 

So how were the names of the days derived? It’s probably no secret that they follow an astrological pattern. The Romans were the first to name the days of the week after mythological gods who had planetary ties. With all the translations into different languages from Roman to Greek to present day, the names became a mixture of planets and gods.

Sunday is pretty self-explanatory:  Sun’s Day.
Monday is also easy to figure out:  Moon’s Day.
Tuesday. Things get a little confusing here. The name Tewe, Tiu, Tiw, Tyr are all associated with Tuesday. Some spellings equate this with a Norse/German female deity. Others say Tyr was a Norse god known for his sense of justice. Either way, though, this was originally Mar’s Day (think Mardi Gras).
Wednesday – Woden’s Day (Woden, aka Odin, one of the most powerful Norse gods. This was originally Mercury’s Day, by the way).
Thursday is Thor’s Day (originally Jupiter’s Day).
Friday is Freya’s Day, or Frigg’s Day, depending on who you ask. Originally Venus’s Day).
Saturday – Saturn’s Day.

It seems to me that the days of our weeks are a mish-mosh of ancient cultures and beliefs. I like that.

By the way, if you don’t know what day you were born on, here’s a quick calculator you can use to find out:
Birth Day Calculator

20 responses to “Wednesday, Wednesday

  1. Wow – very neat. I had no idea or at least hadn’t ever considered where the names of the days of the week were derived from. Very interesting!!

  2. Wow, I love this post. I didn’t know what day I was born so did the calculation and I’m happy with Thursday. Funny because I’ve always said I need two or three life times to get where I’m going. To much to do, to little time to do it.

    • And you are on your way. I know your books have been selling well, Lavada. That’s a sure sign. Thursday is your day! I do know what you mean about not enough hours in the day, though. When did we get this busy? Has it always been this way? Yikes!

  3. Well, I was born on a Sunday but I’m not ‘gay’ as we know it in modern times. Interesting~I didn’t have a clue where the names of our days came from. If I’d been in charge….I would have numbered the days. Which would have meant I was born on Day 1.

    • No. Not the modern day definition, but I personally believe all the others fit. You are always upbeat and so positive, you lift us up with you. 🙂 And, being a numbers person myself, I’d go along with numeric day names. Although say the day and date together might getting confusing:
      Wednesday, August 29th would be Four, August 29th. Hmmm. Might have to stick with non-numeric names for days. 🙂

  4. Okay…finally have a moment to lodge my complaint…er I mean comment. Full of face??? What’s up with that? Always had a fat face but now that I know its because of the day I was born, really ticks me off! I want to be full of grace please…do overs?

  5. Valerie J. Patterson

    I’m a Monday child, and quite fair, so that seems to hold up. Never knew the days were named for Greek Gods (almost typed Geek Gods). 😛 This was interesting, Laurie. For a day where you had “no post” this turned out to be a hit. Good for you! Makes you glad you’re a writer, right? 😛

  6. I’m Wednesday as well and I prefer to be Odin, thank you very much- he’s much more interesting than being full of woe. PFFT on Mother Goose. I spit on her grave. I am not woeful at all about being born on Wednesday! AND you are def. not a woe-filled person. You are a superstar and very happy as far as I can see.

    • Yay! I’m not alone on Wednesday!!!!!!!! Us Wednesday folks, we create our own destiny, eh? Me, I pick…Friday. I like the “loving and giving” part. Wait a minute. Freya is the goddess of love and fertility. FERTILITY????? Uh uh. I’m picking another day. Monday, since I’m a moon child already. lol

  7. Interesting post, Laurie. I was born on a Saturday and Saturn’s Day is pretty cool, much better than having to work hard for a living 🙂

    • Good for you, Tricia. Own the day and you’ll probably end up tagging along with the Thursday kids.
      This has been a fun discussion. I’ve enjoyed everyone’s comments. 🙂

  8. AMEN! Don’t do the fertility one!!

  9. Fascinating post. Seems I’m a Wednesday child. Woe is me, woe is me. … No, not me at all – I’m a fun loving chick who works hard for a living. Perhaps bits of me were born on different days.

Leave a Reply

