Taylor Bridge Wildfire

So, normally, I have my blogs loaded a couple days in advance so they post, all shiny and new, at 7:00A.M. PDT. Today, however, it’s 10:30 and I just realized I’m supposed to have a blog up today. (Many thanks to Lavada for the memory jog). I’m quite certain the brain cell that held that scrap of memory got destroyed in the hectic-ness that was my week.

The western part of the United States is having a very tough wildfire season this year. Here’s a link to a map that shows just how many fires are raging at the moment.

Wildfire Map

It’s daunting. And one of those fires  came a little too close for comfort.

On August 13th, my daughter who lives 2 hours away from me, called to say a wildfire had caught on close to where they live. It turned out to be the Taylor Bridge fire that gobbled up 23,500 acres, and burned 51 homes and cabins to the ground.  Even now, the fire is not fully contained, although it’s close at 91%. They say it won’t be completely extinguished until snow falls this year. There are just too many forested hills and valleys for it to travel through.

While my daughter and her family didn’t have to evacuate, folks as close as 4 miles to them did. As well, they had a full week of unhealthy air to deal with, as the smoke permeated everything. Even the inside of their home smelled like a campfire.

Thankfully, things are easing there and my grandchildren can once again play outside. I know it was a stressful few days for us, following the progress of the fire as it crept closer and closer.  When we heard that the eastern flank was contained, we all breathed huge sighs of relief.

I feel so bad for the folks who lost their homes. There’s been a huge outpouring of assistance for them and the news has talked a lot about the high level of volunteer activity in this community. That’s been great.

I am so very grateful to the 1,000 firefighters that worked hard to control this fire. I can’t imagine what it’s like to be on the front lines like that, but I tip my hat and open my heart to them. So much has been saved due to their efforts.

13 responses to “Taylor Bridge Wildfire

  1. Fires are to me the scariest. When I was little, I must have been around six a fire took out a whole row of houses on my grandmothers street. We were staying with her and I still have a memory of men loading trucks with her furniture as the fire came closer. She had a rental next to their home and the whole row up to the rental was destroyed. The memory of the smell and the flames has stayed with me.

    Thank heavens your daughter stayed safe. Having them over there had to be a scary time for you.

    • Yes, we had the granddaughters for a couple days, which got them away from the smoke and gave us a chance to spoil them. 🙂 The memory from your childhood sounds pretty strong. You never lose that smell of fire, do you? My husband had a house fire before we married and we spent weeks working in that house while it was remodeled. I don’t think I’ll ever forget that smell.

  2. Ditto to the efforts of the firefighters and support for those who lost their homes. Its a horrible thing to experience even for those not so immediately affected. Glad to hear that it’s now under control and that the effort to rebuild can begin.

    • Yes, I hear that everyone has now been allowed back to their homes, or what’s left of them. I wonder how long it will take the land around the homes that didn’t burn to recover.

  3. It’s hard to wrap your mind of being near a wild fire and not knowing day from day whether you’ll continue to have a house. I’m glad your daughter’s house was safe, and I feel so bad for all those that lost everything.

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    I’m so very sorry for those that have lost everything. Fire is so final. It snatches up everything in its wake and leaves nothing but devastation behind. I heard Australia was sending fire fighters to help as we send so many of our men and women to fight their fires during their dry seasons. It’s always good to see parts of the world come together when something like this happens. So glad your family is safe, Laurie. Hoping they continue to be for a very long time.

  5. Yes, fire is final. That kind of says it all, Valerie. I’m grateful there was no loss of human life with this fire. I hadn’t heard that Australia came to help. I wonder how many of the firefighters who were here headed to California. That fire looks pretty nasty, also.

  6. Such a terrifying situation to be caught up in, Laurie, but so very glad your family is safe. It’s amazing and humbling how people come together to help at times of crisis and fire fighters are certainly a special breed. So very sorry for people who have lost everything.

    • Yep, and that community is a do or die community. Their rather large county fair and huge rodeo go on as planned this weekend. 🙂 The fire is under control and no longer threatening structures, thank goodness.

  7. Glad your daughter didn’t have to evacuate, too. Thank God for firefighters, right? Sorry others didn’t fare well. It’s so random, isn’t it?

  8. Thanks- glad I dodged it, too. And I am with you on the esteem and respect!

Leave a Reply

