Eleanor Roosevelt

Easily recognizable the picture to the left is how I see Eleanor Roosevelt. But like I remind my grand children I wasn’t born this age. And neither was she.

Anna Eleanor Roosevelt was born October 11th 1884. My birthday is October 12th so we share the same zodiac sign. A distant cousin of her husband, she didn’t even have to change her name when she married.

There are people in history that hold a fascination for me and this lady is one. She isn’t without her critics. But when she entered the White House as First Lady, she changed the course of history. As a humanitarian she worked for the welfare of youth, black Americans, the poor, and women. Lately the advice she gave, “Do one thing everyday that scares you.” Has been sort of my mantra. I’m sure it’s because of the one eighty degree turn my life has taken. I’ve included this quote in some of my recent blogs so thought I’d dig a little deeper into more of her sage advice or quotes. In reading through them I was constantly reminded that they come from her experiences. She didn’t just say words, she lived the meaning behind them.

I’ve selected a few of Eleanor Roosevelt’s quotes that have a meaning for me but there are so many more. And, the ones that seem particularly meaningful for today might be different tomorrow.

• “Many people will walk in and out of your life, but only true friends will leave footprints in your heart”

• “Learn from the mistakes of others. You can’t live long enough to make them all yourself. ”

• “You can often change your circumstances by changing your attitude”

• “Beautiful young people are accidents of nature, but beautiful old people are works of art. ”

• “To handle yourself, use your head; to handle others, use your heart.”

• “With the new day comes new strength and new thoughts.”

• “You have to accept whatever comes, and the only important thing is that you meet it with the best you have to give.”

And one final quote. For years I had a poster over my desk at work. It reminded me to step out of my comfort zone. The author is unknown.

“A ship in the harbor is safe. But that isn’t what ships are built for.”

There is a wealth of inspiration out there and with the social networking it has never been more accessible. Do you have a favorite saying, or quote? One you pull out when you need it?

11 responses to “Eleanor Roosevelt

  1. A great lady indeed, Lavada. Love her philosophy on life and especially her great positive attitude. Her idea that you can often change your circumstances by changing your attitude is very powerful.

    I love quotes. A couple of my favourites are: “if you always do what you’ve always done, you’ll always get what you’ve always got” and another about taking chances “leap and the net will appear”

    Lovely post.

  2. Valerie J. Patterson

    Very nice post this morning, Lavada. I have many favorite quotes, but here are a couple I try to keep at the back of my mind:

    “Do not complain that God has not given you all that you want, but rather be thankful God has not given you what you deserve.”

    and

    “At the end of your rope is the hem of his garment.”

    and lastly

    “I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”

  3. Eleanor Roosevelt was an amazing woman and I thank you for reminding us of her attitude–one we should all emulate. To try something, whether you succeed or fail, is growth.

    I also love that Tricia and Valerie have posted some of their favorite quotes. Mine, which somewhat mimics these, has to do with living life to the fullest:
    “Time is a companion that goes with us on a journey. It reminds us to cherish each moment, because it will never come again. What we leave behind is not as important as how we have lived.”
    Captain Jean-Luc Picard

  4. Loved your quotes. Eleanor Roosevelt was indeed an amazing lady. Thank you for sharing!

  5. I agree with all the comments. Eleanor was a super woman and ahead of her time (not that other women haven’t been but you know that was the big era of change for women as far as their public roles went). Thanks for the reminder of this awesome lady.

  6. Pingback: You Learn By Living – Eleanor Roosevelt (1960) « Linda Long Writes!

  7. I read a lot of interesting content here. Probably
    you spend a lot of time writing, i know how to save
    you a lot of time, there is an online tool that creates readable, google
    friendly posts in minutes, just search in google –
    rewriter creates an unique article in a minute

Leave a Reply

