My Fair Lady

This weekend, one of my friends celebrated a birthday and as part of her celebration, we went out to dinner and she treated us to a showing of My Fair Lady. Our local historic theatre which was built in 1925 is having a summer season of older movies shown on the big screen. Two weeks ago was Casablanca and next week is Fiddler on the Roof. It’s so awesome to be in that beautiful lady with the plush velvet seats and fancy scrollwork and see these films as they were meant to be seen.


I have three trivia questions for you today. Let’s see who can answer them.

First, what opera were the patrons seeing at the beginning at the film when ‘Enry ‘Iggins first met Eliza Doolittle outside Covent Garden Opera House?

Second, what man played the infatuated Freddy? A man who later went on to play Sherlock Holmes and who’s real father was named Henry Huggins?

Third- What other role did Rex Harrison have that was related to a Doolittle or Dolittle?

10 responses to “My Fair Lady

  1. It’s probably not fair to use Google for these, right?
    😉

  2. I’d have to use google. I love old movies and what a great setting.

  3. Love the movie, but I’m not much of a detail person. I did try googling the opera question, but since My Fair Lady has also been done AS an opera, I couldn’t quite dig through the hits and find the right answer. A lame guess would be Figaro? I did find Jeremy Brett. And was Rex Harrison at all involved in Dr. Doolittle?
    Whew, that’s about all I can come up with. But what a lovely time you had. I love venerable old theaters. It feels like you’re transported back in time. 🙂

    • Way to go, Laurie. And the answer you didn’t find was Faust. So, did Eliza sell her soul to the devil, Mr. Higgins? Lol.

      And yes, Rex played Dr. Doolittle in 1967, three years after MFL.

      And I do love that theatre. I used to perform there as a teen.

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    Nice bit of trivia play there, Jillian. Looks like a lovely theatre. Pittsburgh has Heinz Hall and the Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Hall and both are wonderful places to go to. You can’t help but feel thrown back to another era while you’re in them. Glad you got to go, and what a great film to see while there! One of my all-time favorites. 😛

  5. Great post, Jillian. As My Fair Lady is one of hubby’s favourite movies, I just asked him (trivia king) the name of the opera playing at the start. He’s on his way upstairs to his computer ready to dig around to find out – didn’t have the heart to tell him you’ve already revealed the answer 🙂

Leave a Reply

