Traveling With The One I Love by Valerie J. Patterson

Every August, the bubbly hubby and I take an anniversary trip.  We were married on August 9th, which is also my father’s birthday, so the date is extra special to me.

My husband, Steve has taken to planning our anniversary trip and usually I am the last to know where we are headed.  He has planned some exceptional vacations from St. Ignace and Mackinac Island to Delaware to Rhode Island and Newport Island to Washington D.C. to the Irish Festival in Dublin, Ohio.  No matter where we go, I can count on plenty of romantic moments, memorable activities, excellent food, and noteworthy wine.  From steps into fiction like a trip to Mount Airy, North Caroline–the town Mayberry was fashioned after–to steps back in time like a trip to the 134-year old Belhurst Castle in Geneva, New York.  From an evening spent at one of the oldest rodeos in the country to a week exploring the trails of Nova Scotia where the Titanic sank.  From romantic nights sharing a sunset, bottle of wine, and a hot tub to cool, windy evening concerts at the marina, on the beach, or in the grandstands.  From studying the ancient documents of our country’s birth to studying a line up of suspects on a murder mystery train.  You see, I never know what secrets will be shared until the trip unfolds.  And I am never, ever disappointed.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This year, due to a scheduling snafu, our usual leisurely 8-day trip was whittled down to 4 days and 3 nights.  Imagine my surprise when Steve said last week’s trip was part one of a 3-part get away.  Part Two will be in September–at an as yet undisclosed location.  Part Three will be in October in the Finger Lakes Region of New York, and all I know for sure is that we will be attending a Jo Dee Messina concert and enjoying a leaf peeping morning and afternoon.

I love the fact that we share so many of the same interests, yet are different enough to compliment one another.  I love that he gets excited about history and that he indulges my interest in Mark Twain to the point of taking me to Twain’s Connecticut home, his gravesite in New York, and his mountain study, also in New York.  I’m so glad that he shares my interest in wine and is willing to take countless winery/vineyard tours and visit many tasting rooms, and attend a wine festival with me–all at his planning.  I am in awe at his trip planning skills.  And I am amazed at his romantic side, his funny side, his serious side, and his generosity, his ability to make me smile, and his ability to love me when I am feeling unlovable.

No matter what we do during our anniversary trip, I can always count on celebrating our love, our friendship, and our marriage.  Like every couple, we have had good, happy times, and we have also had dark, sad times of sorrow.  I am very blessed to have Steve–not just for our trips, but for the countless moments spent together that have shaped and defined our marriage.

Until next time, I hope you all are enjoying summer’s fading glory.  Take care.

13 responses to “Traveling With The One I Love by Valerie J. Patterson

  1. What a wonderful tribute to an amazing man. You’re blessed for sure to have him in your life and for his love. I think you’re very, very lucky to have such a great marriage. Treasure each other and happy anniversary!

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Thank you, Jillian! We had such a great anniversary. I am indeed blessed. I can’t imagine my life without him, he just adds too much to it!

  2. Wow. What a great guy you have, Valerie. You are truly blessed. And you always have August to look forward to, eh? Now you get to anticipate September and October, too. Have fun! And let us know where you end up in September. 🙂

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Thanks, Laurie! Yep, I never know what August will bring my way, but I always know it will be memorable. I’m not sure what I did to deserve him, but I’m so very glad he chose me! 😛

  3. No wonder you write romance. I love the pictures you shared. Making memories is the best. And with the special someone it doesn’t get get better. Enjoy, life is good.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Thank you, Lavada! Glad you liked the pictures. I wanted to include one photo each from the past few trips, but last night I discovered most of them were on Steve’s desk top computer, and he was using it when I was writing the blog, so I settled for those that were on my laptop. My mother has told me more than a couple times that she always hoped her daughters would marry men like my father, and that she was so happy I did! Up to the day he died, my dad always held my mother’s hand no matter where they were walking to. He always was a gentleman, and he always treated her like she was the most beautiful woman on the planet. I think she might be right about my husband, too! 😛

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    In the wee hours of this morning, my niece’s fiance broke her heart by leaving her for another girl. Right now she is extremely heartbroken and feels defective (for lack of a better word). I’ve been trying to tell her that this simply was not the right man for her. That if he was, he wouldn’t find it so easy to walk away from her. I so much want to tell him that he’s made the worst mistake of his life and that he’ll live to regret leaving my precious niece, but I’m afraid he’ll want her back, and I no longer think he’s good enough for her. How do you convince a young woman that there are better men out there when at the moment her heart is torn to shreds and all she really wants is the man who walked out on her? I have told her there are men like Uncle Steve out there, and that the right one will find her, but she’s so very hurt right now that I don’t think she believes me. 😦

  5. I’m so sorry for your neice, give her time to accept what happened and hopefully soon she can realize she deserves better. Your Steve sounds like a keeper!

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      Hi Vicki! Thank you for dropping by. Yep, Steve is definitely a keeper! 😛

      I never want to see the people I love in pain, and I wish there was something I could do or say that would take away my niece’s heartache. Moving on with a broken heart is so difficult. You’re right…she deserves so much better!

  6. The three-part trip sounds marvelous! Maybe Steve has a potential new career, planning mystery tours for folks? Valerie, tell your niece there’s life after dumping–really, truly this could be the best bad thing that ever happened to her. She is hurting now, but if she can just get through the next few weeks she may be amazed at what’s around the next corner. I swore off men after a no-notice dumping–luckily I’m no good at keeping resolutions. A friend started calling around , :”just happened to be in town” and that sort of thing; 47 years later, we’re still together and have had an amazing life.

  7. Valerie J. Patterson

    Hi Karen! Thank you for reading. Ha ha, I have often told Steve he would be a great travel planner. He usually just looks at me, no other response. 😛

    I will definitely share your story with her as it is so full of hope. You could have missed out on this fabulous guy if the louse had stuck around. Congrats on 47 years. Hope there are many, many more anniversaries together for you!

  8. I always love reading your blogs, Valerie, but this was one of the best ever. What a fab guy your Steve is and you sound like perfect soulmates. Enjoy every moment together.

    • Valerie J. Patterson

      You are always so sweet, Tricia! Thank you for being faithful to read. I love that many of you on here share so much about the men in your lives. It seems more common to bash than to praise these days. Perhaps that’s why divorce lawyers are so wealthy! 😛

      Steve is the love of my life, and I am truly blessed we found one another!

Leave a Reply

