It’s August! Can You Believe It?

I spent the day recently in Havana, Florida a quaint little town near Tallahassee (and it’s pronounced Hay-vana- Weird, I know). It has a lot of antique malls and little shops. One of my favorite ones is a ribbon, button, jewelry and all kinds of goodies, shop. It’s called Cindy’s Chapeaux and is very like French boutiques where you can get ribbon cut by the inch and lace among other things. I scored some great things there, including a 1940s brooch.

I also got some great books at one of the shops. An illustrated middle grade Pride and Prejudice, a 365 things to do in Britain book (great for research for my novels), a dictionary of Ireland and a book of World Proverbs- I like to put quotes as headers on my chapters in my novels so this book will be added to my research library. I’m a quote hound and have a treasure trove of those kind of publications.

I also got a couple of scarves. One for my neck, a lace one for an end table in my office and an embroidered one for my table between my chairs in the den at home. Got a pretty barrette, too.

The best deal of the day was a new sink for my office bathroom. It’s so pretty, I fell in love with it instantly.

I’m attaching pictures of some of my haul. Come on over/down to Florida and we’ll go to Havana. I guarantee you’ll love it.

Happy August!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

18 responses to “It’s August! Can You Believe It?

  1. What a fun treasure hunt! I especially love the necklace, brooch and SINK! Too bad my husband hate’s plumbing (he’s an electrician by trade). I’d suggest we take a “business” trip to install it for you. 🙂

  2. We recently took a road trip down to northern California & back. My daughter called me one day & asked me when we’d be back…I told her I didn’t know because we were traveling from one Goodwill/Thrift Shop to the next and that takes time. I found a new sink for our main bathroom (the old one had some chips) at our local Habitat for Humanity Store~$25.00. I was thrilled.

  3. I love this blog. Seeing the slide show was the next best thing to being there. Havana sounds like my kind of place. I was especially interested in the book. I’d always visualized Pride and Prejudice as being much bigger. I’ve seen the movie but haven’t read the book. Not sure how I missed it. And did you note the original price on the cover?

  4. What a haul, Jillian! Great ideas for those scarves and I’m positively lusting over that sink. Wonder if I could write off a trip to Havana, Florida as business expenses? Great post!

  5. I want to go shopping there. With you, of course.

  6. Wow, just love that sink! If ever you get bored with it, just let me know. Next time, I’m coming shopping you!

  7. Valerie J. Patterson

    Nice haul, Jillian! I love the clock on the sidewalk. You bought that? Looks like you know how to shop for treasures as well as bargains! 😛

    • Nope. Didn’t buy the sign. It’s by the park in the town. I’d get arrested if I too that. Hehehe.

      And it was a great haul. And lots of bargains, too. Some of those things were 2.00 and 4.00. Nice on the wallet.

      • Valerie J. Patterson

        Oh my goodness! I had to go back and take a closer look at the clock picture. It is a sign! No wonder you didn’t buy it! 😛 My neighbor has a red clock like that, so I just figured you bought one too for your yard!

      • I wish. I’d love one for my yard!

  8. Valerie J. Patterson

    They look very nice on the lawn. The neighbor has it to the right of her outdoor stairs and it can be plainly seen by all who drive by. It’s bright red, and difficult not to notice! But looks very nice. 😛

Leave a Reply

