Book, er, Movie Review Monday – Act of Valor

I have a confession to make. I haven’t carved out nearly enough time the past couple weeks to read and I’m only about a third of the way through the book I selected for this review.

So no book review today. Instead, I thought I’d talk about a movie I watched recently and didn’t expect to like.

Act of Valor.

This is a war movie. A guy’s movie. Or so I thought. The blurb for this movie says this:

“A fictionalized account of real life Navy SEAL operations, Act of Valor features a gripping story that takes audiences on an adrenaline-fueled, edge-of-their-seat journey.”

Sounds like a guy-flick, right? Wrong. This movie is all about defining heroes and, being a romance writer, I’m all about heroes. Don’t misunderstand me. This also has the ugly side of conflict. There are things I didn’t want to see, but even more that I did.

This story was derived from real events that real SEALS dealt with.  Not only that, the SEALS in the movie were not actors. They were active-duty SEALS. I read an interview where the directors said they originally planned to use actors, but these guys were so dynamic, they put them in the roles instead.

That strength showed in their intensity and focus under fire. It showed in the cadence of their voice, in their familiarity with the terminology, in their devotion to family and to country.

I decided after watching this movie that devotion is what defines heroes and I was completely mesmerized. I could not tear myself away.

So, if you don’t mind the action, I recommend this movie as the most realistic look at what it takes to be husband, father, friend, and Navy SEAL.

And many, many thanks to all those who serve. Wow.

15 responses to “Book, er, Movie Review Monday – Act of Valor

  1. Just put it on my Netflix que and moved it to the top.

  2. Sounds like a great movie, I’ll have to check it out.

  3. Sonds good. Glad to see your review. I was torn about whether to watch it or not.

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    I couldn’t wait to see this movie when it arrived in the theater, and I was not disappointed, either. It was riveting and held my attention every single second. If nothing else, it serves to let civilians know what it takes to do the job these men willing and voluntarily do to protect people as well as our freedoms. It should be required viewing for high school students … or at the very least, those who hold no respect for our military.

  5. Sounds like a must-see/should-see movie, Laurie. It’s on my shopping list.

  6. I watched Act of Valor tonight and it didn’t disappoint. You’re right there is a lot of ugly in it as it doesn’t sugar coat war. Bringing in the men as family men made it real. Not a story I’ll forget.

  7. Don’t usually watch this sort of film but following your review, Laurie, I shall definitely look out for it. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

