Happy Monday!

Go me for remembering that it’s my day here at the blog. Sometimes the old noggin thinks I have the third Wednesday (sorry Nancy) instead of the third Monday, so I’m quite proud that I remembered.

I hope you all had a nice weekend and that the month of July is treating you well. I know some of the UK friends and Pacific Northwest friends here have had an abnormally cool season. You could sure come on over here to sunny Florida and I’d be glad to share some of out 90-100 degree days with you! We’d have a popsicle and stick our toes in the sand. Maybe even take a dip in the Gulf of Mexico that’s usually as warm as bath water.

Here’s a cool drink recipe to keep you from knowing (or caring) what the weather may be:

Sangria
½ cup sugar
½ cup water
1 lemon cut into ¼ inch thick slices
1 orange cut into ¼ inch thick slices
1 lime cut into ¼ inch thick slices
For syrup, in a small saucepan combine sugar, water and the 4 end slices from the lemon, orange and limes. Bring to boiling, stirring till sugar dissolves. Remove from heat and cool.
Squeeze juice from cooked fruit slices into the syrup, then discard.
1 750 ml bottle dry red wine, chilled
2 cups of carbonated water (I use lemon or lime flavored, but you can use plain)
2 TBS brandy (cheapest you can find!)
In a large pitcher combine syrup, wine, carbonated water, brandy and remaining fruit slices. Pour over ice and enjoy!
Make approximately 6 (8 ounce) servings

16 responses to “Happy Monday!

  1. Oooh, this sounds very enticing. I’ve been wanting to try a sangria recipe. Hmmm. Looking out at the gray, drippy day here, Florida is looking pretty darn good at the moment. Put the drinks on ice. I’ll be there in a while. (I wish.)

  2. Ummm yummy. I love Sangria but have never even thought to make it. And this looks easy, my kind of recipe.

  3. I’m known as the Sangria Queen in my family as on holiday I have to make a jug full every day. Was meaning to put my recipe on my blog this week, given to me by a Spanish bartender in Majorca some years ago. We will have try both and compare notes. 🙂

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    I enjoy a great glass of Sangria! Thanks for the recipe. I have one from my favorite restaurant, too. Maybe we can make all three and have a taste “test”? 😛 😛

  5. This isn’t a plan, Valerie and Jillian – it’s sounds more like a party to me. Yay! 🙂

  6. Valerie J. Patterson

    I’m up for a party, Ladies! And if you’re health conscious, just remember that each glass counts as a serving of fruit! 😛 😛

  7. Oh, sangria. I have some very bad memories of sangria 😦 I was nineteen, on my first trip to Spain with a few friends, at a beach barbeque… shall I go on? Best not. But I’d be happy to share a popsicle and stick my toes in the sand, Jillian 🙂

  8. You can find my recipe for Sangria over on my latest blog: http://wp.me/p1q0nb-uK

Leave a Reply

