Vanishing

We get the AARP magazine and I think I’ve mentioned before how much I enjoy it. Recently Jillian has posted some great pictures of phone booths and we’ve blogged some nostalgia like clotheslines. So when I saw the AARP article on what futurists predict will be bygone items in the next 50 years I just had to share. Though I have to say some of them are popping up at the fair museum already.

• Home phones – we still have them but our daughter stopped her land-line last week. I bravely took the long distance option off mine. Rotaries? I’m not sure anyone has those anymore.
• Gasoline pumps – Their predicting that if we go to service stations it will be to plug in for a battery recharge. Ummm not sure about this one. At least in the next 50 years. I’m betting we’ll still have some gas guzzlers out there.
• Toilet Paper – I had to chuckle on this one. They are predicting that toilet seat bidets will wash and dry at the touch of a button (almost wrote bottom ☺). Laughing aside we were at a Street of Dreams open house a few years back and they had a toilet that could do that. There was bottleneck of people in that room scoping it out.
• Drivers – Yep robot cars. They have them and they are getting near perfect record on thousands of miles of California highway’s. Nevada is slated to be the first state to issue permits for self-driving autos.
• Cursive – I couldn’t believe this one and I should. The grandkids tried to tell me that they didn’t need to know how to write cursive. Yeah like that wasn’t going to get them out of learning. Now I have to back up because four states have officially dropped handwriting as an educational requirement.

This is just a few of the list that included, Answering machines, Tube TV’s, Phone books, Bank deposit slips, Rolodexes (bet not many kids would know what these are), Printed Encyclopedias (I think they may have already bit the dust), film (it’s been history for me for quite awhile), Analog clocks, and Desktop computers.

As I looked at the list I realized that some of these things didn’t stick around all that long. Like “Here today – Gone tomorrow”.

13 responses to “Vanishing

  1. Yep! I think some of those are pie in the sky and some of them are really going to happen. I don’t want to have to stay at a gas station long enough to re-charge. I have to go!! LOL!

    And I still have a house phone, but like you, I turned off the long distance.
    Neat post.

  2. Valerie J. Patterson

    Haven’t had long distance on the landline in years. However, the bubbly hubby is pushing for me to terminate the home phone. I hesitate because older relatives only contact us on the home phone.

    Some of the things on that list have already bit the dust and some are already on their way out, but some I tend to agree with you Lavada that they’ll still be hanging around. The government is pushing for carmakers to make autos more fuel efficient, and I believe they actually have a deadline on that, and not everyone can afford a hybrid because the technology makes them too expensive, so I tend to think gasoline powered cars will be around a while longer. As for cursive writing, who really cares. What bothers me more is that schools are so accepting of slang and message-speak in papers from students that proper English is barely being taught. What’s THAT going to lead to?

    Good post, Lavada! 😛

    • I think we are developing a whole new language. Look at how English has changed. Now we not only don’t take the time to smell the roses, we don’t take the time to form whole words. Time seems to be the deciding factor. To much to do and see.

  3. Fun post, Lavada. I can see some of this going soon (if not already) and other stuff on the list I have a hard time believing. We still have the land line with long distance. Hubby prefers it and, I have to say, our little pocket of the universe doesn’t quite have a cell tower close enough. I have trouble with the cell sometimes, so I don’t mind the land line.
    I knew they had stopped teaching cursive in local schools. That seems strange to me.
    All this makes me wonder what our chidren will see phased out in their lifetimes. 🙂

  4. I know so many have thrown out their home phones & long distance service~but not me! I don’t like talking on my cell phone unless I have to. Besides, it’s not possible to cradle a cell phone between your ear and shoulder when you’re chopping veggies or doing dishes. Another thing I refuse to give up is the phone book (unless they absolutley stop publishing them). I even carry one in my car and I use it frequently. I think it’s very sad that some schools are throwing out cursive. Someday, long hand will be a lost art. Note to self; start stocking up on toliet paper.

  5. We haven’t had a land line in years. We all have cell phones. Smart phones if you want to be technical. LOL

    Not sure about the future and where we’ll all be. I remember being a kid and being told by the year 2000 we’d be riding around in space cars like the Jetsons cartoon! LOL

  6. We’d be sunk here in our village if we had to rely on cell phones – no signal! But I’d certainly be up for teleporting. And as a soon to be retired (yay) adult literacy co-ordinator, I’d fight to keep handwriting on the syllabus 🙂

    Really interesting post, Lavada.

    • I didn’t believe the kids when they told me cursive wasn’t important. You need it even for your signature or are we going to stop having to signing documents?

  7. I’m joining the queue for teleporting. As for the toilet seats that wash and dry – the Japanese already have these, not that I fancy using. I remember being told at school in the mid 1960s that by 2000 we would all be using computers and have much more leisure time because of them. They almost got it right except more leisure time came from being without a job. Very enjoyable post, Lavada, thank you.

  8. I would definitely get rid of my land-line if we got good cell reception but it is hit and miss so we’ll keep the land-line, probably for a very long time!! You are right about cursive. My grandkids tell me they don’t have to learn it anymore but Jamie wanted to do cursive in second grade and did. Probably writes better than me. Thanks for the reminder that we need to appreciate these “old” things while we can.

Leave a Reply

