Floor Chores

I hope all of you in the US had a safe and fun Fourth of July! Ours was a low-key BBQ at home with friends, just how we like it. 🙂 Now it’s back to the routine, eh?

I’m trying to streamline some of my processes these days.  I don’t seem to accomplish as much in a day as I used to. So this week, I’m thinking about floors.

A couple of years ago, my husband and I switched some of our floors from carpet to vinyl. This was great for me, as we had indoor/outdoor carpeting in the kitchen and I disliked it…a lot!

Now, two years later, I’m still struggling to find the easiest way to care for these floors. I find I am still attacking the floor twice, once to sweep and once to mop. I’ve been looking at some of the newer products out on the market, like the Swiffer products. I thought they had a wet pad mopper that did it all, just toss the wet pad when it’s done. But I see their system is a dry/wet system. Use a dry pad to pick up dirt and dust, then switch to a wet pad to mop. So still, I’m going over the floor twice.

My sister just bought a small upright vacuum that’s supposed to be able to do floors, also. I’ve always figured anything mechanical like that would be hard on the floor.

So I thought I’d ask if any of you have time-saving tips for floor care. Or am I doomed to always do a twice-over to keep our floors clean? Maybe I don’t necessarily need to mop every week, since it’s generally just the two of us (and Dude the cat, who happens to be shedding like crazy right now). Maybe I can just sweep sometimes and I don’t have to be such a freak about floors?

Dude and I would love to hear your suggestions.

11 responses to “Floor Chores

  1. Ah good morning. Not sure there is a way to do it all in one. I’ve thought about those robot things.

    • I’ve never checked the rumba things out. I wonder if they are any good. What am I saying? That’s probably a bit over my “floor cleaning” budget. 🙂

  2. Valerie J. Patterson

    Get a SHARK. It sweeps the floor and then steams it clean killing 99% of all bacteria. There are several versions of the SHARK on the market. Just pick the one best for you and your flooring. The Vac-then-Steam is probably what you’re looking for. 😛

    • I was just looking at that online today. A little spendy, but it doesn’t require you to buy any floor cleaning solution and, if it reduces the time spent cleaning, it’s probably worth it.

  3. I haven’t got a large floor to mop and with only the two of us it should stay clean but not the case – he outdoors never removes his outdoor shoes or wipes his feet properly and too old to train so I have to do it every day. I sweep first then whizz round with well-wrung Vileda floor mop. I just use very hot water with a few drops of washing up detergent and a splash of disinfectant. And then whilst it’s drying have a cup of coffee. Once a week the vacuum goes over it, using the long thin nozzle to get into the crevices and crannies along the baseboards etc.

    • Vileda has a string mop and a sponge mop. I have a similar sponge mop. Yes, I guess I’m stuck with the twice-over. There’s no way to pick up the dust and thoroughly clean on the same pass. So I’ll have to find other ways to be more efficient, eh? lol

  4. Don’t have any solutions for you, Laurie. I vacuum and then go over with a steam mop. Have to say I prefer the old Vileda mop, the type that Kit uses, as the steam mop doesn’t leave a nice fresh smell.

    • Oooh, I hadn’t thought about the lingering scent. I like a nice, clean smell. So it doesn’t sound like a steam mop is a good alternative for me. Thanks, Tricia!

  5. I don’t do floors. LOL! The deal I made with the spouse when we married included a clause that he does the floors. AND the grass.

Leave a Reply

