Happy Mother’s Day!

I wonder what percentage of blogs this week and weekend are centered around Mother’s Day and thanking the people who raised us? I’d bet it’s 40-50% but have no idea if anyone tries to do statistics on topics. At any rate, I love that there’s so much discussion this time of year about what it means to be a mother and how much we’ve appreciated ours.

So let’s talk turkey. Oh, wait a minute. Wrong holiday! 🙂 This is a chance for all of us to pay homage to the women in our lives. Mothers, sisters, daughters…everyone who’s had a hand in helping a child become an adult.

For me, I have a mother I dearly love and respect. She’s 87 years young and I hope we get a lot more time together. My mom is the glue that holds our family together. She taught us the values that make us, to this day, a very close-knit family.

She made sure we were all looking our best for Sunday services. That meant Saturday night baths for all 5 of us siblings, then pin-curling my hair and that of my two sisters. Then, managing to get us all into presentable (and non-muddied) clothes and off to church.

She worked a full-time job, did the grocery shopping and the cooking. And she settled our grumbles about whose night it was to do dishes with a look.

She took me to the doctor for stitches in my knee when I fell off my tricycle, then took me back to the doctor later that same day when a swing caught me in the chin and I needed more stitches.

She consoled us (okay, me) when spiders landed on us just as we were dropping off to sleep. (Yeah, my screams woke the entire house).

She made us all feel safe. She still does, just by her presence.

But the highest compliment I can give my mother is that when we didn’t listen and we made mistakes, she has always, always been there to help us pick up the pieces. No judgment, just love.

My mother is the most amazing person I have ever met. She is my rock. I hope you have or had the same relationship with yours.

Beyond that, though, I have had the extraordinary privilege of watching our four daughters turn into amazing mothers in their own right. What my mother taught me, I tried to pass on to them. Judging by how well all our grandchildren are doing, I think we’ve all succeeded.

I wish you all the happiest of Mother’s Days. I’d love to hear your “Mom” stories.

posted by Laurie Ryan

14 responses to “Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. You’ve beyond succeeded!

    • Hello, daughter! It’s great to “see” you. 🙂 And thank you for the high praise. Right back atcha, though. You’ve done a pretty darn good job yourself. 🙂

  2. Laurie, getting to know you over the past few years I feel like I know your mother too. Your love for her shines through everyday life. I miss my mother but feel fortunate in that she is and will always be a part of my life.

    Happy Mothers Day.

    • I know how much you miss your mother. And how grateful you are that you got so much time to spend with her toward the end. And I see the same closeness of family with yours as with mine. I’m guessing our mothers would have liked each other, eh?

  3. What a lovely post and loving tribute to your mother. I’m glad you still have her around to spend time with and treasure.

    I love the photo- is that a new haircut since I’ve seen you? It looks good.

    • Hmmm. Not a new haircut, but more blond toward the front. And less sweat. New York was STEAMY hot. lol

      • Yeah. NYC was hot for you but not for me. Lol. I like your hair both ways just Didn’t think the humidity was the issue as I’m used to 98 percent.

      • Laurie Ryan

        Jillian, every time I walked out of that hotel, I wilted. Whew! Us West Coasters just don’t know how to handle humidity. lol

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    What a lovely tribute to your mom, Laurie. My mom is an amazing woman. She held her family together while nursing her best friend through cancer. She encouraged all of her children to follow their dreams no matter where they led them. She’s survived losing her father, her mother, and then her very bestest friend … my dad. Hers was the loudest laughter at my first pajama party. She watched me fall in love, get my heart broken, and taught me to love again. She was the first at my house when I miscarried. She holds my secrets deep in her being, and there’s no one like her in the world.

    Happy Mother’s day to you ladies blessed enough to be a mom.

    • Ahh, Valerie, your mother sounds amazing. I’m so glad she has been there for you even through her own trials. These years, Mother’s Days are even more special than ever, eh? Have a WONDERFUL Mom’s Day!

  5. What a lovely post, Laurie.
    LOL about the spiders! My lovely mum is terrified of them, but will come to the rescue for her scaredy-cat (and now strapping adult) children 🙂
    When I hear that so many people have difficult relationships with their mothers, it makes me even more grateful, like you, to have such a loving one.
    Happy Mother’s Day!

  6. Hi, Tricia. Yes, spiders are wicked little things, aren’t they? Thank goodness we have our mothers to protect us. 🙂 And I know you just got to spend a lovely week with your mom. I’m lucky that mine only lives about 10 miles away. We’re having a big brunch tomorrow at my brother’s house to celebrate.
    Happy Mother’s Day to you, too!

  7. Ooh hate spiders. Gone all shivery and have feet up on desk at thought. Mums are so special, I would be lost without mine. In England Mother’s Day is in March but as a family we don’t need special days to show our mum how much we care and love her. We do that every day with a thought, a phone call, a prayer to keep her safe. Lovely post. Now, someone tell my daughter that mums are their best friends.

    • How funny. I did not realize Mother’s Day was in March in England. And you are so lucky to have these trips with your mother and sisters. Yes, it’s very important to show our mother’s regularly that they are special, loved, and respected. I’m lucky that my children do that on a regular basis. It sounds like you have a wonderful family, Kit!

Leave a Reply

