It’s May! Happy Fifth Month

Can you believe it’s already MAY? Where is the time going? It seems like we were just celebrating the new year last week. I think I was still in freak-out mode back then and never thought I’d get through March, but I did. It’s funny how things make us get angsty for a while and then they are over and we forget how crazy insane we felt while it was going down. I guess God does that for us so we can soldier on toward the next task and/or goal.

I recently started writing a new book and I think the joy in my work has returned. It was touch and go there for a while and I despaired of ever wanting to be back in the groove of working all day at my law office and then writing at night, but it’s coming back to me- the love of the written word.

So, the good news this month is that #2 son will be graduating from high school. We’re looking forward to that and to a big family picnic/pool party in the back yard. The only down side is that #1 son will be home from England for a visit THREE days later. Bummer. He really would like to be there for his brother but he has to spend some time with the fiance’s family and they set an engagement party for the same day (and are trying to insist that we come- a 9 hour drive for us)- but you know, we already had the graduation party set for the week the kid graduates and that’s all there is to that. It would have been nice if they’d asked if we had plans before just sending out invitations.

Okay, you didn’t tune in to hear my belly-aching, so I’m gonna hush and wish you all a merry month of May! See you soon!

12 responses to “It’s May! Happy Fifth Month

  1. Oooh, lots of exciting stuff coming up for you, Jillian. Congratulations on #1 son’s soon-to-be graduation! And on getting to see #2 soon. Woohoo! Spring is a GREAT time of year, eh? That’s a Magnolia in the picture, right? My mother has one. It’s almost done blooming and makes a horrible mess of her yard, but it is without a doubt the most beautiful tree I know of when in full bloom!

    • Thankis Laurie. I am looking forward to seeing the kid from across the sea and the graduation of the local boy!

      And, yeah, that’s a Japanese Magnolia. It’s in the yard of my office. It is beautiful and the blooms are a lovely pink.

  2. Lovely for you to spend time with both your sons, Jillian, even though they’ll miss each other. Lots to look forward to. And really pleased the writing is back on track.

    • Thanks Tricia. They will get to see each other but the older one won’t be here for the younger one’s high school graduation. But they will get to spend a little time together.

      Thanks re: writing. I’m super happy about that development.

  3. Yahoo, May’s here and with a bit of luck Spring will blossom once again, as is your writing. So pleased to hear you’ve got back into it. A good writer can never stay down for long. You must be really proud of both your sons. Enjoy the days with them, there’s always another time for you all to be together.

    • Thanks Kit! I hope you get some spring soon. I know it’s still cold over there where you are. We are already doing the low 80s here.

      I appreciate the kind words about the writing.- I was worried there for a bit but I’m better now.

      I’m very proud of my children. They are amazing young men and I’m glad to be able to spend time with them..

  4. It sounds like another busy month for you. Glad you’ll have both your boys with you, even if it’s for a short time. But I totally sympathize with you regarding the clashing of the dates and both are important events, but until we locate that cloning machine (which I’ve been searching for since March) no one can be in two places at once. Enjoy your time!

    • Thanks Micki. You’re right about cloning. The future mother in law is in the habit of doing this kind of thing. She once booked hotel rooms for us when we told them we could come to something but only stay until a particular day. She booked rooms for longer. Wild.

  5. Valerie J. Patterson

    Hopefully the in-laws-to-be learn to include you first and not as an afterthought. Difficult mixing two families, but easier when everyone considers each other. Congrats to both sons. Good luck with the writing now that you’re back at it. 😛

    • Thanks, Valerie. I hope they will but I think we’re in for a bit of an issue there. They are very nice people and I don’t think there was any malice there, they just don’t seem to realize all the obligations we have and that we actually have another child. Lol.

      Thanks for the good wishes for the kids and the writing.

  6. I’m off the face down position and catching up with missed blogs. In light of the writing you accomplished I don’t think you have anything to worry about. But I’m glad your back in the swing of it. Our grandson is graduating from high school this year too. It’s been a struggle for him and shouldn’t be. It will be interesting to see him stepping into adulthood and all the freedom he thinks it will bring.

    Sounds like some busy exciting weeks for you.

    • Thanks for the good wishes. And yeah, I’m happily writing again. So glad you’re back and up and around a little.

      Good luck to your Grandson as he moves out of the high school safety net, too. Should be interesting to see where these young men go from here. Exciting times.

Leave a Reply

