Shopping till I drop…

Spotted on a recent trip to Devon, this pub sign in Axminster prompted hubby to go on a sulk because I wouldn’t let him try out the creche. Despite tempting him with a fish and chip lunch and the promise of uninterrupted viewing of the England International rugby match on TV the next day, he couldn’t be consoled and dragged around after me while I happily browsed around the shops.

Now, I’m not a great shopper but when visiting a new place I love checking out quirky little gift shops and thrift stores – you never quite know what treasures you’ll find. But poor hubby loathes shopping, so on this trip I eventually gave in and he went off happily in search of a beer while I indulged my credit card.

This week, my mum is visiting us as part of her 80th birthday celebrations. She has really bad legs and some days finds walking difficult, but does it stop her shopping? No way. My mum loves to shop. Her stamina is amazing and a couple of times this week, she’s put me to shame. She’s inexhaustible! She might flag, but a stop at a tea shop for a reviving cuppa and tasty pastry, and she’s off again. She has an amazing creative streak and can suggest a cushion or plant which is exactly the right thing for the right spot, and often the very last thing I think would work. Plus, if I see something I like but can’t really justify buying it, she always persuades me to treat myself by saying that I deserve it, or more likely I have to fight her all the way to the till before she can treat me herself.

So, this week I feel like I’ve shopped till I’ve virtually dropped, and I’ve enjoyed every minute. But that will do me for a few months. I’m sure my energy and wallet will thank me for it πŸ™‚

11 responses to “Shopping till I drop…

  1. I’m one of those sad creatures who hates shopping. Give me a woman creche any day! However, I would gladly shop till I drop with our Ma. Time together is precious and when we do get the chance to indulge in a bit of window shopping we do, giving up and giving in to coffee and cake by about the fifth shop! Mum’s are great to shop with. Daughter! Are you listening? (stony silence ensued…). X :)) (PS how do you get those smiley faces?)

  2. Oh! I just find out. Smiley faces all round now. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • Yes, well done figuring out the smiley faces, Kit. It took me a while to work out how to reply to each individual comment πŸ™‚ Back to the shopping, well today there’s been more cakes and coffee and we’re blaming the weather. Will it ever stop raining?

  3. Ahhhh, happy 8oth birthday to your Mum, Tricia! It sounds like she is 80 years young, in spirit at least. That’s great! As for shopping, I love to trinket shop, or tourist shop. Clothes shopping, not so much. I either have a really productive day there or a really lousy one.
    And congrats to Kit for figuring out the smiley faces! πŸ™‚

    • Mum is certainly young in spirit, Laurie. This week, she’s pretty much worn me out πŸ™‚ I know she’s in pain with her legs, but it doesn’t hold her back. She’s pretty amazing.

  4. I love clothes shopping if I’m finding things I like. Which as I put this weight on is a rarity. And if I’m not out shopping for something I have to have. Guess I like browsing better than shopping.

    But like Tricia I really like browsing the speciality shops. You can get a glimpse of the culture in so many of them. And book stores. OH MY…

    Mom, wasn’t a good shopper but our daughter is mint. Great post today.

    • There’s been a lot of browsing today, Lavada. I’m feeling pretty shopped out πŸ™‚ Yes, the speciality shops are great and oh, those book stores, especially the ones with coffee shops in store…

  5. Happy birthday to your mom and happy shopping. I’m not a big shopper unless it is in little boutiques. I don’t care for malls and cookie cutter stores. Your trip sounds like one I would enjoy.

  6. Thanks, Jillian. The little boutiques and smaller stores are gems. Love your term ‘cookie cutter stores’ πŸ™‚

  7. Valerie J. Patterson

    Oh, your Mum sounds like a sweetheart and a dynamo! Happy Birthday to her! I’d rather someone beat me than make me go shopping. My mom is the same way. I get a huge “craving” for shopping come October when I gear up for Christmas shopping, but once it’s done, so am I! However, set me down in a bookstore and I can be there for hours. πŸ˜›

    Enjoyed your post very much!

Leave a Reply

