A Time To Plant, A Time To Reap

Yep. It’s that time of year again. I swear Spring is my husband’s favorite season. He’s a farm boy at heart and I love him for it. This picture is of our garden. Hubby has just tilled the soil and it is rich and dark and ready for seeds. There’s a bit of lettuce growing in the middle he managed to winter over from last year. It’s about ready to start harvesting. I don’t buy lettuce all summer long, thanks to him rotating when he plants seeds. It’s great. Except for one small problem.

Do you see the size of that garden? It’s only hubby and me at home these days. So when things start producing well, he starts wandering the neighborhood with buckets of produce. I have suspected for a few years now that, by August, there are a lot of neighbors who don’t seem to be home when he comes a knocking. 🙂

I joke about the amout he grows, but I’m very proud of how good he is at it. And, the really cool thing? What we don’t use or give to neighbors, the local food bank takes. He feels really good about that, as well he should.

So are you planting a garden this year? If so, what will you have in it? We do lettuce, tomatoes, green onions, green peppers, corn, sugar peas, pole beans, cucumbers and radishes. Oh, and pumpkins (because I love to watch them grown and we can hand them over to the grandkids in October). Sometimes he tries cantaloupe and watermelon, but we don’t have a long enough growing season in the Pacific Northwest for those to turn out well.

Finally, I’d like to give a shout out to Lavada Dee, who covered my blogs for the past month while I was inundated with things I needed to do. Thank you, Lavada!

I’ll leave you  now with a bit of cheer, here’s an oldie but a goodie: Turn, Turn, Turn by the Byrds (circa. 1966)

19 responses to “A Time To Plant, A Time To Reap

  1. Wish you were our neighbor! What a fullfilling activity for so many people.

    • Hmmm. There’s a house for sale down the street. Two of them, actually. Come on up. Hubby is so chomping at the bit for nicer weather to stick around.

  2. What a great thing for him to do. I love it. My spouse grows a garden as well. I stay way since I have an awful brown thumb- it’s bad how I kill growing things!

  3. ANd, oh yeah, I love this song!!!!!!

  4. Ahhh!! Nothing beats fresh produce from the garden! We don’t get that here in San Diego and it’s one thing that I really miss!!

    • You KNOW what my answer to that is going to be, right? Come on up anytime. daughter! In fact, you’re welcome to move home and pick fresh every day. lol a bunch. 🙂

  5. I love the look and smell of a freshly turned garden. We used to garden and can and freeze. Now we only do a few tomato plants and not sure we’re even going to do that this year. Jack always likes planting and picking but hates weeding. Me I’m not into the garden thing.

    Great post.

    • I’m not into vegetable gardening, either. But it’s a great hobby for hubby. Me, I like my flower pots! 🙂

  6. What a great photo, Laurie. All that wonderful soil just ready to be planted 🙂 I tend to grow veg in pots as the garden is mostly flowers. One of these days I’ll try planting in between the flower beds, see how that goes.

    • We did tomatoes in pots one year, but didn’t have good success with them. And every time we’ve tried the upside down tomato plant, the tomatoes rot. So I think he’s going to continue doing things the traditional way. I’d love to see a picture of your flower garden, though!

  7. We’re gardeners too. Hubby grows lots of flowers and veg – potatoes, beans, beetroot, carrot and broccoli behind the front flower border and a greenhouse full of tomatoes – far too many for the two of us. What we don’t use we turn into soups and freeze. He makes a cracking tomato soup. I look after the back garden – flowers flowers and more flowers. We are both at our happiest in the garden and great exercise. Wish it were bigger though. We’re on a corner plot, garden a triangle. Love the song. Brings back such lovely youthful memories. Thank you. :))

    • He’s grown broccoli in the past, but it doesn’t seem to do all that great here. And cracking tomato soup? I’ve never heard of it. Hmmm, maybe you can post the recipe as one of your blogs? hint hint. 🙂

  8. Valerie J. Patterson

    Wow! What a lovely garden, and the soil looks so rich and fertile. Sounds like he is quite the grower, too. My father-in-law is our neighbor and he grows a couple varieties of lettuce (which are excellent tasting), he grows tomatoes, onions, raddishes, green peppers, and I think beans. He grows everything in these open, wide, flats that he keeps on his sun porch so the critters don’t get them.

    I enjoyed your post, and I especially enjoyed reading how proud you are of your husband. The love you have for him is very evident in your words. 😛 Kudos to him for contributing healthy, fresh food to the neighborhood food bank, as well. I reckon you ought to keep him! 😛

    • Thanks, Valerie. Yep, my guy’s a keeper. It sounds like you get a lot of produce from the “family” garden. Hubby does angst over critters, but hasn’t moved to garden beds…yet.
      Have a GREAT weekend!

Leave a Reply

