Eagles 2012

Awhile back I posted this site and thought I would do it again as watching it is an annual event for me. It’s the live camera feed from the Hancock Wildlife Foundation.

There are a number of different cameras but this one is one of my favorites. In this link the eggs are in the nest and right now there are two though I wouldn’t be surprised to see more. The cameras are set up so you have a ‘birds eye view’ of the nest and can watch as the eggs hatch and the babies grow, finally flying off.

There isn’t a lot to add to this post, it’s something you have to see for yourself. I use it almost as a screen saver.

9 responses to “Eagles 2012

  1. Ooh, I forgot to check on these guys. We keep an eye on the eagles nesting abut two miles from our house, but don’t get the, um, bird’s-eye view of this webcam nest. Thanks for the reminder, Lavada.

  2. Amazing and awe-inspiring. Fabulous creatures and how lucky are we with this type of technology to get such an amazing experience? Thanks for posting, Lavada.

  3. Thanks for commenting. I forgot too Laurie. And, I know that we have new followers since I posted it last time. I’m not sure this isn’t a blog that I’ll post ever spring. Last night he or she got up and repositioned herself over her eggs and there are still just the two so it looks like that might be it this year.

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    I watch this nest every year. I think this is my 4th year. Thanks for the reminder, Lavada. I always post the link to my facebook page. 😛

    The dedication and love and care these eagles give their eggs and then eaglets is amazing. Humans could take a lesson or two from these dedicated parents! 😛

  5. Thanks for the comment Valerie. Awhile ago the tide was out and you could hear a dog barking down below the nest. This is amazing.

  6. I’m a closet birdwatcher and the bigger the bird, the better. Fascinating creatures. They make better parents than a lot of humans, that’s for sure. So glad that egg collecting is illegal nowadays.

  7. I watch this nest each year. It fun to watch them grow and then they are gone. Right now it’s kind of a quiet time but later both parents will be in and out for hungry mouths.

  8. Cool idea to use it as a screen saver!

  9. There’s an empty shell in the nest this morning. I’m not sure if it’s an old one that I hadn’t seen or if the eggs have hatched. She won’t move off the nest so I can see. Will keep watching.

Leave a Reply

