Hi! I’m Your New Neighbour

Hello. Thought I would pop my head over the parapet of the backyard fence and introduce myself. I’m Kit Domino. Author, artist, and general lover of chit chat about this and that, and anything. I live in the county of South Gloucestershire in the UK, in a small town (well it was once small, in fact it was a hamlet at one time) about 10 miles from the city of Bristol, although I was brought up in West London, having the River Thames and three glorious London parks as my playground.

I think it was knowing these three parks (Kew Gardens, Richmond Park, and Syon House and parklands) that helped create my love of plants and gardening, well, that and my mother’s passion for flowers as well. She’s the sort that could plant a broomstick and it would shoot. And, being surrounded by parks and trees, I also have a keen interest in birds and bird watching. Not that you could call me a Twitcher, I just happen to enjoy watching them, especially around the birdfeeders and birdbath in my garden.

My other great passion is travel, well having holidays really. My brother lives in the Costa del Sol in Spain so I am able to pop over the Channel whenever I can and most years I jet of to sunny climes with my mother – now a spritely 86 year old ­– and my two sisters, who are identical twins. We like to hire a villa with a pool, as near the sea as possible, and enjoy each other’s company for a few weeks without the interruptions of moody children and husbands. This year is going to be no exception.

So what else is there to say about me? Well, I also write novels and this month sees the launch of my first book Every Step of the Way. But we don’t want to talk about that, do we? You can always pop into my website to find out more (www.kit-domino.com).

I am really looking forward to chatting with you and want to say a big thank you for the lovely warm welcome from Lavada and Laurie. I know we are going to have a lot of fun together. And if you have time for a coffee and a cake, do pop in any time at my place.

10 responses to “Hi! I’m Your New Neighbour

  1. A VERY Big Welcome to our neighborhood Kit. I’ve followed your blogs over on your site (See blogroll on the right) and love them.

    We’ve been having some rather cool weather here in the Pacific NW and reading your March 27th post at http://kitdomino.wordpress.com/ with the pictures gave me hope that we too will have spring.

    Again, welcome to our community.

  2. Thank you, Lavada. Seems our lovely weather is about to turn cold again. Snow forecast. Our spring flowers aren’t going to be happy, neither am I. Hate cold weather.

  3. Welcome Kit! You’re going to love it here – can’t wait to get to know you better! My son is in the UK in Sheffield in grad school. We are all in love with the British isles. I live in Florida but am addicted to travel as well. I’d love to spend some time in Spain and that’s definitely on my list of places to head.

    Congrats on the debut of your book and I hope you have many sales.

  4. Thank you, Jillian. I don’t know Sheffield. Would love to see Florida one day. I have an aunt who lives there although cannot for the life of me remember where exactly. Looking forward to chatting with you, too.

  5. Valerie J. Patterson

    Welcome Kit! Hope you enjoy your stay here. Congrats on the book release. Here’s hoping you have more sales than you ever imagined. 😛

  6. Hello Valerie. Good to meet you. Am sure we are all going to have a lot of fun here.

  7. Kit, I’m so sorry to be late to the welcome party. Family issues have kept me off the ewaves. I’d still like to shout out a WELCOME to Over The Backyard Fence. It will be fun chatting. And I was checking out the artwork you’ve posted on your website. You are a talented woman. I heard this morning that Thomas Kincaide passed away. What a loss. That man was SO talented.

  8. Hi Laurie. Hope all is well on the homefront now. Sad news indeed about Thomas Kincaide. He truly was a brilliant artist. And thank you re my paintings. I enjoy doing them but am nowhere near as talented as Thomas. I can’t draw which at times is a disadvantage. Looking forward to talking lots.

  9. Hi Kit and welcome. I know you’ll love being here in the neighborhood and look forward to reading more of your posts.

    Weather’s taken a dip here in the UK but much needed rain for the gardens, eh?

    Everyone, check out Kit’s website not only to find out more about her writing but for her amazing and beautiful artwork. One talented lady!

  10. Aw thank you, Tricia. You’re making me blush!

Leave a Reply

