A Lovely Encounter

posted by Laurie Ryan

I had the loveliest encounter earlier this month, and I owe it all to a computer spammer/hacker. First off, let me explain that I have a wonderful friend whom I used to work with and who now lives more than halfway across the country. We’ve kept in touch, but I haven’t been as good at it as I should. It’s probably been a couple years since we talked or emailed.

Enter the hacker. I received one of those emails. You know, the “Help Me, I’m Desperate” ones? Here’s the verbage used:

“I really hope you get this on time. I didn’t tell you about my travel to Spain      for a short vacation, but unfortunately i was robbed at the hotel where i lodged along with other folks. i didn’t bring my phones here and the hotel telephone lines were disconnected during the incident. So I have access to only emails. Please I’m going to need some sort of loan from you for me to relocate to another hotel close to the embassy and also to get me another flight ticket. Those thieves made away with my credit cards as well which is why this can’t be resolved instantly.    i have been to the Embassy and the Police here but they’re not helping issues at all and our flight leaves tomorrow..so all i need is (2,450euros)Please, Let me know if you can help me out?”

I knew right away it was a scam, so I emailed my friend to make sure she knew to change her password. As it turns out, it’s been a bit of a nightmare for her, with changed email and bank accounts. And I’m so sorry she’s had to go through that. What I’m ecstatic about is that we’re back in email communication. She is an amazing person, with one of the most uplifting and cheerful personalities I’ve ever met. And I’m so glad to be back in touch.

So thank you, Mr. Hacker. But please, leave us alone from now on, okay? We have better things to do than clean up the messes you create.

7 responses to “A Lovely Encounter

  1. Yuck! Makes you wonder that people have so little of a life. I’d love to see more in the news on prosecution or do they catch so few of them.

    And, talk about making lemonade out of lemons. Good for you and your friend Laurie.

    • Yep. It was great to chat with Jazz again. We need to make a trip back to see them. I’m just not sure when. Sigh.

  2. Internet fraud is certainly on the increase. My husband and I were victims of it a fortnight ago and lost mega bucks. But it is heartwarming that it has brought you back in touch with your friends. Which reminds me … I have an ex work colleague whom I keep meaning to write to. I must do this weekend. Have a lovely one.
    Kit

    • I’ve now managed to reconnect with two old friends this year. So no matter what else happens, I’ve already been blessed, eh?

  3. Valerie J. Patterson

    So glad you reconnected with an old friend, Laurie. Sometimes we allow life to dictate too much of what we do and don’t do.

    • Hi, Valerie! Yep. It’s nice to be back in touch. I’m trying to figure out where my life got so busy. lol

  4. sorry for the hack but glad for the reconnect. That’s cool!

Leave a Reply

