Chocolate Cocoanut Squares

Here in the Pacific Northwest, we seem to be mired in the last throes of winter. It’s cooler than normal and we have had several days of snow and/or hail showers. (Or do they call it groppel now?)

At any rate, I’m in the mood for comfort food. So here’s one of my favorite cookie bar recipes:

Chocolate Cocoanut Squares

  • 1/3 cup light corn syrup
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 1/4 cups (7 ounces) flaked cocoanut
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/3 cup chopped almonds or pecans

Cook corn syrup, water, and sugar together in a small saucepan over medium heat to the soft-ball stage (234 degrees F). Remove from heat; add cocoanut and vanilla, stirring to blend well. Put in an buttered 8-inch square pan.ย  Melt baking pieces. Pour over cocoanut; spread with spatula and sprinkle with nuts. Cool and cut into squares.

On a special note: Jillian Chantal would have been here today but she’s catching up after a weekend spent as Chairperson for her local chapter’s annual writing conference. I know it takes a tremendous amount of work to pull off a conference of this size and we’d all like to congratulate Jillian on a spectacular job. She even got a write-up in Publisher’s Weekly blog by Barbara Vey (that’s HUGE!).ย  Here’s a link to the story:

http://blogs.publishersweekly.com/blogs/beyondherbook/?p=5966

posted by Laurie Ryan

11 responses to “Chocolate Cocoanut Squares

  1. I love love love coconut recipe’s. Will keep this one for when I bake which is rare these days.

    Barbara did a good job reporting on the conference. Congratulations Jillian on a fun time conference.

    • You and me, both. I’ll buy something simply based on the fact that it has cocoanut in it. Hmmm. Maybe I need to look for some cocoanut extract, huh? And yes, I loved Barbara’s impressions of the conference. She spoke at the Emerald City conference last year, I think. We were in tears we were laughing so hard.

  2. Groppel! Excellent word, you are so hip. Looks like a(nother) great recipe, Thanks for sharing.

  3. Looks like a great recipe, Laurie. Thanks for taking up my slack today. I’m very tired and even have a migraine now. It’s crazy how I get them once the stress is over. I appreciate you!! And I agree with Nancy, Groppel is a wonderful word.

    Thanks Lavada. Barbara is a wonderful woman and I’ve been friends with her for a couple of years. I just absolutely adore her. She’s amazing and so special. If you ever get a chance to meet you, you will be charmed.

    • What the heck are you doing hanging around here, Jillian? You should be trying to ditch that migraine and find some quiet time to decompress! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Oh, and Lavada charms us all on a regular basis. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Good grief, I meant, meet her. LOL AND I know I’ll be charmed if I ever get to meet YOU!!

  5. Seeing this recipe has made me go all funny inside as it has reminded me these were my father’s all time favourite. Mum was forever making them for him. Thank you for bring back such sweet memories.

  6. I am making this today, sounds so good. Thanks

Leave a Reply

