Brisket Braised in Beer

posted by Laurie Ryan

Since it’s March, it’s the time of year my husband starts bugging me for corned beef. I’m not a fan of corned beef. Am I in the minority here? I do, however, have an alternate brisket recipe I’m interested in trying. I pulled it out of our local newspaper, which says it came from http://www.ehow.com

Brisket Braised in Beer

  • 4 slices bacon
  • 1 three pound brisket
  • salt and pepper
  • 3 thinly sliced onions
  • 4 twelve ounce bottles of beer (not dark)
  • 1 large, peeled rutabaga, cut into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 6 carrots, cut crosswise into 1 1/2 inch pieces
  • 6 potatoes, cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 2 tablespoons butter, softened but not melted
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1/2 cup minced fresh parsley

Preheat over to 350 degrees.

Cook bacon in a Dutch oven over medium heat, stirring, until crisp. Blot bacon on paper towels to degrease.  Crumble bacon. Pour off all but 2 tablespoons of fat from bacon.

Pat brisket dry and season with salt and pepper.

Heat the bacon fat over medium-high heat until it is hot but not smoking. Add the brisket to the pot and brown on all sides. Transfer brisket to a platter. Add onions to pot and saute until golden. Add bacon, brisket, and beer. Bring beer to a boil. Cover and braise in pot for 2 hours. Stir in rutabaga, carrots, and potatoes, and braise for another 45 minutes more, or until vegetables are tender. Transfer brisket and vegetables to plate. Cover and keep warm.

Blend butter and flour, and set aside. Bring braising liquid to a boil, and reduce to about 3 cups. Gradually whisk in flour-butter mixture. Simmer for 3 minutes.

Slice brisket and put on platter with vegetables. Pour some sauce over dish. Sprinkle with parsley.

I haven’t tried this yet, but it’s on my list.

5 responses to “Brisket Braised in Beer

  1. This sounds yummy. I bought some corned beef for St. Patrick’s day corned beef and cabbage. Jack and I both love the stuff.

    • I don’t know what it is that I don’t like about corned beef, but it’s not high on my list of enjoyable foods. Maybe I should send Mark your way for a nice Irish dinner. lol

  2. I love food cooked with beer but my husband doesn’t so I won’t be trying this even though it sounds delicious. Have to admit to not having heard of rutabaga before so had to look it up. I’m guessing it’s like our swede.

  3. Hi, Kit! Welcome to Over The Backyard Fence! Rutabega is a root vegetable and we use it in stews a lot. Turnaround is fair play, because I had to hit the internet to find out that swede is indeed like our rutabega. 🙂

  4. I’m not letting my hubby see this as he’ll want me to try it and I try not to spend too much time in the kitchen these days 😉 Corned beef is his absolute favourite.

Leave a Reply

