February Posted by Nancy Knox

I love February, it’s probably my favorite month of the year. It might have something to do with my two sons being born in February and it might be that spring is just around the corner. I love walking outside and seeing all the new plants coming up—even if they are sometimes showing through a coat of snow.

February started out rather badly this year. With great sadness I have to report that our dog Kodi went to Doggie Heaven. Although we tried as hard as we could we could never get her diabetes under control. She was an amazing patient through the whole ordeal, taking her shots and blood tests without even a flinch. In the end she was almost completely blind, which just broke my heart. It was almost like she was begging us to help her. So we knew it was the right time and we couldn’t have asked for a better veterinarian staff, so compassionate, and for that we are thankful.

Now we just have Daisy who is very lonesome but getting better every day, although she doesn’t want us out of her sight. We finally have gotten to the point where we leave her outside when we go to town. When we get home she always runs to the barn looking for Kodi. Kodi used to hide from her just to get some rest. Daisy has lots of energy and really needs a 10-year old boy to play with, but for now she is stuck with us. We plan on taking her camping with us this spring, that should be fun!! She prefers to stay on the farm but I prefer to have her where I can keep an eye on her. We’ll see how that works out.

Basketball season is coming to the end of the season. Both our boys and girls made the playoffs, the boys finishing in first and the girls in third. District started last night with our girls winning their first game and guaranteeing them a slot at state. We play again on Saturday with both our boys and girls playing for District Champions. Should be fun and at least it isn’t freezing or snowing so traveling will be good. Win or lose we’ll have state game somewhere next week and then hopefully off to Coos Bay for the rest of the State Games. A long way from home, but so much fun!!

Always a struggle to make sure someone is around to feed the cows and take care of Daisy. I can remember leaving our other dogs out at the barn. They had all they wanted to eat and drink and were very healthy. Boy, have we come a long way since then. Inside dogs—lots of vacuuming!! Even with all the hair I wouldn’t change her to an outside dog, not for a minute.

I’m off to work on some scrapbooking. I have tons of pictures and this was the winter I was going to get everything “caught up”. That’s not happening—I think I’ll blame too much nice weather!!

February is getting better, we should have a few nice days this week and Daisy and I are going to walk at our city park. I hope everyone had a wonderful Valentine’s Day and that you enjoy my latest picture of Daisy.

6 responses to “February Posted by Nancy Knox

  1. Nancy, so sorry to hear about Kodi. It’s such a hard time for you all. I hope Daisy continues to adjust and enjoys her camping trip.

    Don’t feel too bad about not catching up with everything – good weather is the best excuse to get outside and enjoy!

  2. Ah, Nancy. I’m so sorry to hear about Kodi. We got to know her through this blog and know she will be missed. I LOVE the pic of Daisy on the bed, though. She’s not spoiled at all, right? 🙂
    Enjoy the scrap booking and the basketball. I remember the days of going to games.

  3. I LOVE THIS photo of Daisy. She doesn’t know she’s a big dog, to her she’s a lap puppy. You should enter this on in a contest. I could have used it for the post I did on naps.

  4. Great picture. Happy scrapbooking. I’m also one of those people. I love photography and making pretty pages with it.

  5. Thank you for the nice comments. We do miss Kodi so much but are really enjoying Daisy. What a character!! Lavada is right, she does think she is a lap dog and I hate to tell her she weighs 95 pounds.

  6. Valerie J. Patterson

    Nancy, I’m sorry for the loss of Kodi. I’m certain Daisy is not the only one missing Kodi.

Leave a Reply

