Dominican Republic – Zip Lines

Zip lines haven’t been on my bucket list but what the heck, a vacation is a great time to try something new.

We booked the tour for 8:00 in the morning and it was combined with what they called the Dominican Experience. Our first clue should have been when they picked us up in open four wheel vehicles. The first part was down the highway and I use the term loosely. Picture a U.S. freeway in 1940’s. Then we turned off on the ‘country road’ for a trip up the mountains. This picture doesn’t do the road justice.

As we climbed we slipped and slid and sometimes had to back down and take another run. Definitely an experience and not the commercial tours we’re used to.

When we got to the zip line center I breathed a sigh of relief. It was much better than the road would have led us to believe. They got us into the gear and went over how to do the runs. English at the center was surprisingly good compared to what we’d encountered so far. In fact it was better than most of the employees at the resort spoke.

One of things we had to do in the process of getting geared up was to tuck in our shirts. Oh goody, I haven’t tucked in my shirt for ummm let me see, can’t remember. Now I’m really vowing to get into shape (when I get home-OF COURSE).

So the Experience:
There are about a dozen people doing the zip line and by this time we are all looking at each other like ‘what did we do?’ As we make our way to the first platform this thought doesn’t leave me. To make matters worse, the woman behind me tells us the story of how her friend broke her arm on a zip line. Oh and lest I forget, “I AM SCARED TO DEATH OF HEIGHTS.”

Okay now we’re on that first platform and Jack, me, Linda and Rick are last. Well except for one guy bringing up the rear and he seems to be one of two that knows something about this. I had asked back at the start about what happens if you stop in the middle of the line. They explained that you have to flip around and pull yourself hand over hand to the destination platform.

As I watched a woman looking as scared as I felt, got on the line and about three quarters over stopped. We all watched and thanked our stars it wasn’t us. To make matters worse we could see her on the second line and she did it again. Except this time she was only half way across.

When it came my turn there was no way I was going to stop on that line. I willed myself to just let go and as you might expect I sailed over that line. My first clue to how fast I was going was the look on the mans face at the end. His eyes kept getting bigger as he signaled me to slow down with his hands. I can only imagine what he was thinking. Probably that he was glad that he was on the first and slowest line.

If I could have stopped there I would have, but zip lines are like gravity. What goes up has to come down. Getting off at this point wasn’t an option. So on to line #2. With the look of the poor guy I had just left still with me, I made myself slow down at the end. They told us to hold our elbows out but with being scared witless I didn’t. So there was a bit of pain, but at least the guy at the end didn’t swallow his teeth.

The rest of the party was still going. Linda and Rick was behind me and Jack was in front. Biting the bullet I again let myself be hooked up to the third line and was rewarded by a perfect landing. And again I was at a no stopping point. On to line #4 and they are getting steeper and faster. This time when I landed it was again good, but my legs felt like noodles. No way was I going to another line without crawling to the next station.

There were 8 lines and I finished 4. Not bad or least that’s what I’m telling myself. Will I do it again? I seriously doubt it. I crossed it off the bucket list it wasn’t on and I’m calling it good.

9 responses to “Dominican Republic – Zip Lines

  1. Sounds like fun!! I’ve never done it but it does sound like a blast. You do great!! It seems like you had a nice trip!

  2. Scary yet sounds like a lot of fun. Glad you stepped out of your comfort zone! Not many people can say they do that.

  3. Okay. So right here…on record…it is official. My cousin is FAR more brave than I am!!! My bucket has a hole in it – would throw that idea right out the window should it EVER appear on my list!!!! I must admit that it sounds as if you had fun – surely alcohol HAD to be your reward at the end of that line! Or at least SOMETHING to bring you “back to earth”? lol You go girl! Proud of you!

  4. I have to agree with Barb. I’m a scardy-cat when it comes to heights. My husband would like to do a zip line so I told him we’d plan it…and I’d take pictures from the ground. lol Well done, you brave woman, you!

  5. Valerie J. Patterson

    Wow, Lavada, good for you! You didn’t back down, you conquered 4 of those lines, and lived to tell about it. I have thought I might like to try a zip line. There’s a place close to me where I can try a small one to see if I like it before venturing out to do a huge one like you. Enjoyed the pictures as well. Hope to see more. 😛

  6. Thank you for stopping in and commenting. I am unbelievably scared of heights so what I was doing, I DON”T KNOW!!! It was an experience.

    Valerie, GO FOR IT. Life’s short and I should have been stepping out of the zone years ago. You know what they say, the only thing you live to regret are the things you didn’t do or try.

  7. It’s a great feeling to do something you didn’t think you could – well done, Lavada. I’d love to try this, but maybe I’ll settle for one of my heroines doing it 🙂

  8. What a great accomplishment, and something you’ll never forget. Thanks for sharing your experience. And being scared of heights????? That must have made it doubly-scary!
    Good job, we’re proud of you!

  9. I have the best in laws in the world. They are my hero’s…. Oh my goodness you should have seen them, Lavada was such a trooper. She may have been afraid but she didn’t show it. It was worth it alone just to see those two go on the zip lines. This was on my bucket list and I had a blast. I will do it again given the chance. 🙂

Leave a Reply

