Getting Ready

Why is it that when my to-do lists have to-do lists everything that can and some that shouldn’t, go wrong. First we were getting ready for Christmas and it seemed like for every step forward I made I took two backwards. One task would morph into two or three. It got so we were laughing at it all. Christmas came and miraculously everything fell into place and we had a fantastic Christmas Eve and day.

Then Christmas night, and I came down with what appears to be going around. I lost my voice and developed an annoying cough that made getting a good nights sleep all but impossible. Some, including me, would say how fortunate to catch something like this after all the festivities were over. The next week was a quiet one so I used “not feeling good” as an excuse to laze around and read and nap. All that I accomplished was getting the house back in order with the decorations down.

Than wakeup time, the first of the year and count down until we leave for the Dominican Republic. Twelve days, plenty of time all I had to do was go down my ever-ready to-do list. Then the headphones on the TV that Jack relies on broke. Well I had a trip to the mall on my list anyway. Back home I crossed off “trip to mall”, and than we couldn’t get them to work, and we had to return some things to the mall and Jack realized he needed some items. Okay add another trip to the mall. Then the TV went out, and after over an hour of futzing around it was okay (strange happenings). By this time the day is getting away from me again.

We are leaving tomorrow and things are shaping up. Getting ready seems to take on a life of it’s own. Stressful, oh yeah. Motivating, oh yeah. Worth it all, oh yeah. And like at Christmas miraculously everything will fall into place.

I don’t know what the computer access will be so I may not be checking into Over The Back Yard fence for a while. I’ll be thinking about you (a little) and enjoying some warm sunny weather. I’ll try to take some pictures to share when I get back.

7 responses to “Getting Ready

  1. Have a wonderful time Lavada! You might miss some snow.

  2. Being a list-maker, I am fully aware of the ebb and flow of lists. 🙂 I’m glad you got through yours, my friend, and soon get to relax on the beach. Enjoy!

  3. Enjoy your trip!! I hope it’s fun and relaxing and a bonus extension to the holidays. 🙂

  4. Ahhhh, this is the life. We are staying an an all inclusive resort. Food, drinks (every kind imaginable) are all included. We booked outings to day and you’ll never believe what we are going to do.

    Like going on a zip line. It is a series of 9 lines. Yikes. And a body and facial spa. The other tours are more in keeping with what we usually go on. This vacation is a new experience for us and we are loving it. It’s sort of like the spoiling you get on a cruise but it’s on land. Linda and Rick are soooo much fun to be with.

    Linda I saw the forcast for snow and don’t mind missing it.

  5. Ooh, sounds gorgeous, Lavada. Have fun, relax and enjoy!

  6. Have a wonderful trip. Can’t wait to heat all about it. Soak up some sun!!

  7. Valerie J. Patterson

    Wow! What an exciting time for you, Lavada! I’m glad you’re having a great time, and I look forward to seeing some pics and hearing about the zip line!

Leave a Reply

