Out with the old…

Hmm, well here we are on the cusp of a New Year and as always it finds me in reflective mode. 2011 has been a good year for me with loads of good times, much laughter and, okay, a few tears, but on balance it’s been pretty great. I have a lot to be grateful for as the old year ebbs away.

As the clock ticks toward 2012, I find myself reflecting on what I’ve achieved during the past twelve months: whether goals have been reached and objectives met. Looking back at my list I see that some of my goals haven’t been achieved and they’ll need to be reviewed and reevaluated before I pop them on the list for 2012. This is an important step as goals that were relevant twelve months ago might now be inconsequential as needs and desires can change so much in the course of a year. It’s easy to continue pursuing something that we may have outgrown and no longer holds value to us. For me, this means accepting that if certain goals remain unmet, it doesn’t necessarily mean I’ve failed, but that perhaps I’ve changed along the way and those goals are no longer relevant or important to me.

So, I’ll take some time between now and when the clock strikes midnight on the 31st December, and reflect and evaluate on the goals that have strong personal meaning to me. Then I’ll write them down because I believe that the act of writing them down makes them concrete and that in turn allows them to seep into the subconscious mind where they’ll simmer and grow toward fruition. Then I’ll make a promise to myself to do everything in my power to achieve those goals as long as they remain meaningful to me.

So along with my good wishes to everyone for a happy, healthy, prosperous and peaceful 2012, I hope you achieve your own goals and desires and that their achievement brings you light and love and everything you hope for.

I’ll finish my last post of 2011 with my favourite quote about success from the wonderful Ralph Waldo Emerson, which seems very appropriate as we reflect on the old and look forward to the new:


To laugh often and much; To win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children; To earn the appreciation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends; To appreciate beauty, to find the best in others; To leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch, or a redeemed social condition; To know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded.

5 responses to “Out with the old…

  1. What a great post, Tricia. I have been reflecting on goals myself. I don’t seem to do well with long term goals. I think you’re completely right about needs and ideas changing through the year. Still, being a list-maker)when I don’t check everything off a list (like goals), it bothers me. So I’m going to try vague and general goals this year, but expand on my weekly goals. It seems to work better for me that way.
    Have a safe and peaceful New Year!

  2. Love Emerson’s quote. Yes, I need to dig mine out and remake new, revise those I haven’t met but still want too. All in all 2011’s been good to us.

    Happy New Year, is this the retirement year?

  3. Great post, Tricia. I hope you got lots of reflection in for the end of the year. I’m like you, if the goals weren’t met, maybe they were changed goals or maybe something better is on the way instead.

  4. Laurie – I agree about the weekly goals working better – it’s always good to break things down and never ceases to amaze me how quickly those smaller goals feed into something really big πŸ™‚

    Yes, this is retirement year, Lavada. WooHoo! My goals are reflecting this by being slightly more adventurous πŸ˜‰

    I love your thinking Jillian πŸ™‚ Viewing it that way puts us back in the driving seat which is always a good thing.

  5. Valerie J. Patterson

    What a great post, and I loved the Emerson quote. If more people would strive to live that way, what a far better world we would all live in. I learned from my father that the success you have in life is not measured by achievements but rather by the lives you’ve touched with goodness and love. May you know that type of success, too. Happy 2012, Tricia! πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

