Who’s In Charge–Us, or the Cat?

I thought it was time for an update on Dude-the-cat. You might remember him from a couple of prior blogs. He’s our cat who, at his one year appointment, weighed 15 pounds. At two years, he weighed 16 pounds! He’s been bulking up so far this winter so I’m quite afraid to take him for his annual vet appt in January. I keep threatening to move his appointment to August as he’s much more active and trimmer in the summer.  🙂

Anyhow, my husband and I recently had a discussion that really was more a statement of a foregone conclusion. Who’s in charge of this house?

Hmmm. Let’s see. When Dude wants breakfast, he sits on the floor by our bed and meows until I get up and feed him.

When Dude wants to sleep during the day, he jumps up on the back of my office chair and bats at my head until I get up. Then he plops down in my chair for a nap (see picture) and I end up using my husband’s chair or the therapy ball to sit on.

 When Dude wants attention…and I’m working, he jumps up on my husband’s desk and starts batting at stuff until he gets a response from me. He especially does this when he thinks I’m working too late and it’s time for bed.

And, when Dude is left outside a little longer than HE thinks is necessary, he has this very opinionate meow he utters as he walks in with his tail high in the air.

Yes, the matter of who’s in charge around here is pretty much settled. Dude-the-cat rules our house. And I have to admit, every time he head butts me and then settles in for a good purr, I don’t mind one single bit. 🙂

7 responses to “Who’s In Charge–Us, or the Cat?

  1. OH can I relate. In our house we live with Abby who isn’t aging gracefully. A Jack Russell she even rules over Rue the cat. Thanks for reminding me we live in a normal household. Dog, Cat & people in that order.

    • He’s on my shoulder purring as I type this–one handed. 🙂 I’ve met Abby. She rules your house as much as Dude rules ours. lol

  2. That is a BIG cat you have there!

    JH!

    • Yes, he is a big boy. 🙂 And currently stretched out on the rug in front of our woodstove. He loves the warmth.

  3. Valerie J. Patterson

    I like Dude already! And he’s a big boy! Our little Princess never weighed more than 7 pounds. However, her size never prevented her from asserting herself as the mistress of the house. It was our good fortune she allowed us to reside with her! LOL.

    I miss that little ball of fur like you would not believe. So hold onto Dude as long as possible!

    • Ahhh! Princess sounds like a smaller, female Dude. I’m sorry you’ve lost her and I’m sitting here (in my husband’s chair because Dude claimed mine) thanking my lucky stars for him. I couldn’t sleep last night, so I curled up on the couch and Dude climbed up for some cuddle time. There’s nothing better than a cat’s purr, eh?

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    And they have this incredible knack for knowing when we need cuddle time, don’t they? The love an animal returns is pure because they don’t expect anything in return. They just want to be loved as well. I’m glad Dude loves you and provides cuddles and laughs when you need them the most!

Leave a Reply

