The Joys of Family Travel

What happens when you combine two adults, a 3-year-old and a 9-month-old, two days in a car, a house full of extended family, and a holiday?

It depends on how many of them stay healthy. (The car did, just in case you were wondering.)

Squeaker started it. He got sick (all over me, thank you very much) the night before we left. But, like all good parents, we realized this was an opportunity to have the baby sleep more than normal in the car, so we packed a few extra (ultimately unnecessary) rolls of paper towels, and hit the road.

While Squeaker slept almost the whole way, Munchkin handled two days in the car just fine as well. He did confess, though, that, “Mommy, sometimes lizards freak me out.” Since we were headed north into the land of cold and rain, sans nice warm rocks for said lizards to sunbathe on, Munchkin had nothing to worry about.

Thanksgiving morning, Grandma (aka my energizer-bunny-wannabe mom) came down with whatever Squeaker had had. She had a dozen adults and a half-dozen kids coming for Thanksgiving dinner, and she was in no shape to cook. So my sisters and I stepped in and finished up what Grandma hadn’t pre-prepped (I meant that energizer-bunny-wannabe thing) (also, I cook a mean turkey) while calling the oldest and youngest guests to warn them of the Bacteria of Doom making its rounds. Only one cancelled, but the second-youngest guest of the day felt a little excluded in all the sickness, and joined in with some unfortunate contributions of her own. (Although in her case, that’s just what happens when you eat pink cookies for breakfast then get in the car for a 40-minute ride.)

Grandma was feeling better by Thanksgiving night, as was the toddler, so plans for Black Friday madness continued as scheduled, then my little family hit the road again. Just in time, too. Both my baby sister and my brother-in-law came down with the sickies as we were rolling out of town.

Add in the cat food our cats broke into while we were gone, the moldy dishes in the dishwasher that we forgot to run on our way out of the house the week before, and hubby coming down with I-Ate-Too-Much-Pizza-Itis our second day on the road trip home, and I can honestly say it was a Thanksgiving to remember.

And truly, I am thankful for the whole experience. Because our illnesses were temporary, our food was good, my sister proposed to my husband (proof that I got the better one 🙂 ), and I have stories to tell about the last two weeks for years to come.

Posted by Jamie Cody

8 responses to “The Joys of Family Travel

  1. Valerie J. Patterson

    Glad you see the positive in the entire thing, but so sorry your family went through the illnesses while over the holiday. Glad everyone is feeling better. Sounds like despite the illnesses, you all managed to have a good time together, and that’s what matters the most. Uhm, moldy dishes? Eew! 😛

    • It was a really nice time. And since the boys traveled so well, it’s nice to know we’ll be able to try again in future years when maybe the sickies won’t be going around. 🙂 But if they are… well, we know we can handle it.

      And we just use bleach for the rest.

  2. OH MY GOSH. I love this post. I usually read OTBF with my morning coffee and this post was a great way to start the day.

    I’m glad it was all temporary and things are back to rights before tackling the Christmas fun.

    • Christmas?!?! Oh, jeez, that’s coming up now, isn’t it? LOL

      Glad you enjoyed the post. 🙂 We had a good time traveling, but we’re still glad to be back to normal.

  3. I’m glad it was you and not me. Wow – I figured the car ride would be the worst of it. Shows what I know. Glad all of y’all are healthy

    • Thanks. 🙂 Me, too!! Apparently two of my sister’s kids came down with it pretty bad after we left too.

      The car ride did get long in the end, but I don’t think it was torturous enough for me to justify demanding to fly next time. 😉

  4. Hmmm. I posted a response to your blog this morning, but I must have forgotten to hit post comment. Gees, I guess I was multi-tasking. I’m so glad the illnesses were short-lived and you still got to have a Thanksgiving! Our family goes away to a winter cabin each winter. Last winter, the cold-crud went through the whole lot of us. This year, we’re all popping Vitamin C for a week before we go! 🙂

    • Vitamin C!! Brilliant idea. We’ll try that next time. 🙂

      A winter cabin sounds so nice. Especially as I sit here in 60+ degree weather, staring at my Christmas tree, hoping music and candles will bring on the holiday spirit.

Leave a Reply

