Expectations

posted by Laurie Ryan

This past week, Lavada and I had new stories released as a two-story holiday anthology. Normally, I don’t talk about the business of writing here, because Over The Backyard Fence is meant to be about life, and family. However, writing is my job and right now, it’s stressing me out.  I don’t think it matters if it’s your first or your fiftieth book, anticipation is exhilarating. It can also send you on an emotional roller coaster.

  • Will folks like the book?
  • Will folks buy the book?
  • What else can I do to get the word out there?

Yep, the blood pressure is climbing. There are dozens of questions that run through my mind pre and post release and I’m trying to tame the whirlwind of thought so I can get some work done. I got to thinking about expectations and what mine are for this book and my career. This isn’t the same as goals. Goals are what you plan to accomplish. Expectations, to me, are what you expect the results of accomplishing those goals to be.

So what do I expect?

  • I expect that we’ll sell some books. Whether it’s a lot or a little, only time will tell.
  • I expect that I’ll find some people who love our stories.
  • And one or two who find flaws in them. (I don’t think a book has been written that doesn’t have at least one mistake in it.)

Those are pretty standard and I’m still breathing into a paper bag. So what if I amp those up?

  • I expect that we’ll sell a lot of books.
  • I expect that everyone will love our stories.
  • And if anyone finds a flaw, they won’t tell me.

Hmmm. Maybe not realistic, but I found my blood pressure returning to somewhere closer to normal as I typed these. So is this kind of expectation, or positive reinforcement, good or bad? I don’t know. As you can tell, I’m in the “lots of questions, very few answers” stage of a new book release.

I love the stories we wrote. And I love that we tied them together without effort—family is an underlying theme in both stories. I don’t know which side of my expectations I’ll land on. But one thing’s for sure. It’s a wild ride and worth it , I think, to tell all the stories running around in my head.

7 responses to “Expectations

  1. Congratulations on your release! I didn’t realize you were working on this. So exciting!! 🙂

    • Thanks, Jamie. I always go through a lot of angst with new releases. Can you tell? I’m wrapping this community around me like a warm blanket at the moment. 🙂

  2. It’s gonna be wonderful!! Why I thought December 1 was the day, I don’t know. Congrats to you both. Angst is healthy and understandable! Off to buy!!! I was waiting til Dec 1- color me stupid! LOL!

    • You weren’t wrong. December 1st was supposed to be the date, but everything was in place early so we went with it. 🙂 Thanks for the support (and the blog like), Jillian!

  3. I echo Laurie, and appreciate all of the support. Releases are a mixture of awe, fear, and excitement.

  4. Valerie J. Patterson

    Congratulations on the new release. I wish you the very best with sales and promotions. I apologize for being late to the party. 😛

    • Hi, Valerie! Yep, we’re having fun with it. And this party’s never-ending, so there IS no late. 🙂 I hope you’re having a good holiday season!

Leave a Reply

