Book Review – The Shadow of Your Smile – Posted by Lavada Dee

I kept going back and forth between a 4 star and 5 stars for this story and finally gave it 5. When I can’t put a book down it equates to a 5 star for me. The only problem I had was that there are a lot, really a lot of characters in this story and they are all introduced early on. Could there have been less with maybe a bigger role for some of them? In my opinion, yes.

In the days when series are popular, Mary Higgins Clark writes stand alone stories that are always fresh and unique and The Shadow of Your Smile holds true to it.

The Seattle Post Intelligencer says “Clark flawlessly weaves a story . . .” and that says it all. The plot is complex, and fast moving. Like James Patterson, Mary Higgins Clark writes short chapters which helped me keep the characters straight.

The story starts with Olivia Morrow who at eighty two is facing death in a matter of two to three weeks. For years she has been the keeper of a family secret and now with death looming she agonizes over whether to tell the secret to the last family member.

The secret will change lives, and for some a loss of wealth and other secrets revealed.

Think you’ve figured out the ending on this one, think again it took a turn I didn’t see coming. And, now with the last page turned I’m looking forward to her next story.

5 responses to “Book Review – The Shadow of Your Smile – Posted by Lavada Dee

  1. Thanks for the recommendation! My mom’s been a big Mary Higgins Clark fan for years. 🙂

  2. Oooh, sounds really good. Thanks for telling us about it. 🙂

  3. Jamie, My mother liked her too. I didn’t start reading her until after she had a number of books out and then went back and got all her backlist. Now I grab them as soon as they are released.

  4. I loved her back in the day! I haven’t read her lately and now I see I need to dive back in. This one sounds good!

  5. Valerie J. Patterson

    Thanks for the review, Lavada. It’s been a while since I last read one of her books. Might have to look for this one. 😛

Leave a Reply

