Life in Lincolnshire

I live in a very flat part of the UK. Every time I step outside, my beautifully coiffed hair is immediately blown into disarray. Sometimes it can be a nuisance, but Lincolnshire does have its compensations. The countryside is very beautiful.

Close to where I live is a wonderful fully working 8-sail windmill. It was originally built in 1830, and later restored in 1986. I’ve made a link HERE and hope it works for you all. The link will take you a map with Heckington Windmill highlighted, keep zooming in and you’ll get to see a marvellous 3d image of the mill and surrounding village courtesy of Google.

Opposite the windmill is another famous landmark The Pearooms. This has been converted into apartments, so is not listed. As the name suggest it was used for sorting peas. It’s a very agricultural area, with a lot of farms producing the majority of vegetables for the UK.

8 responses to “Life in Lincolnshire

  1. What a lovely area you live in. I’ve got to send this link to my friend who loves windmills. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I love reading blogs that take me to other parts of the world. We don’t have many windmills here in the Pacific Northwest. But we do have a lot of old barns and like the windmills I love their history. And, they both make wonderful pictures.

    Thanks so much for sharing your part of the world with us.

  3. How neat! I feel like I’ve just taken a mini-vacation. ๐Ÿ™‚ Love the picture of the windmill too.

  4. I love windmills and Lincolnshire is an area I’d really love to explore in more depth. You’ve wetted my appetite ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Beautiful! I love windmills, too. and I thnk it’s cool that the pearooms have been converted into apts – wonderful!

  6. Thanks for all your comments ๐Ÿ™‚ I think anything historical is worth taking a closer look.

    I’ve been inside that windmill, and you can climb on ladders, to the very top. Occasionally, they will grind flour on the old mill stones, which is then sold in the little gift shop downstairs. It’s run by enthusiasts and volunteers.

  7. Valerie J. Patterson

    Hi Jan! I agree … anything historical deserves a closer look. What a lovely area! I like windmills and lighthouses. There’s just something about them that pulls a person to them. Thank you for sharing a piece of where you live with me. ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

