“New Orleans Ladies, Sassy Style That Will Drive You Crazy”

“All the way from Bourbon Street to Esplanade, they sashay by, they sashay by.” Anyone know that song by Louisiana’s LeRoux? I love it. It’s an awesome song and I was there in the Crescent City with two girl friends on October 22. Cynthia Eden has a book set there that releases pretty soon if it hasn’t already and I have my series set partially in The Big Easy as well (Book One will be out in April, 2012). Our other friend, Katie Reus is still plotting and planning her novel to be set there. We took a day trip to make pictures for Cynthia’s website, my book trailers and for Katie to use for inspiration.

We hung out in the French Quarter, visited St. Louis Cemetery and the Garden District. We found Anne Rice’s house as well as Archie Manning’s house (Remember him? He was a famous Saints’ quarterback before he had the famous sons, Eli and Payton). We also had beignets at Cafe DuMonde and a po-boy in a Quarter restaurant. It was a grand day. Cynthia and I even had our palms read (for research- and man, was that chick odd- she’s gonna make a great character in a story).

So, I’m gonna show you some of the pics I took. This video I’ve chosen also has some great shots of the different areas of the city. New Orleans is like four or five cities in one. Very eclectic and our most European city in the United States. I love the place.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

12 responses to ““New Orleans Ladies, Sassy Style That Will Drive You Crazy”

  1. Great post. Much more interesting than the over the fence neighbor I suggested.

  2. Is the flooding still evident? I’ve never been to New Orleans though the city intrigues me and I’ve had it on ‘to visit’ for a long time. You live a great life Jillian. Thanks for sharing it.

    • Nope. No flooding still evident but still a ton of abandoned houses and slabs. It’s sad to see that. It’s a wonderful city as long as you don’t stray too far off the beaten paths. Some places have danger warnings but it’s over all ok. Not too sure about the great life, but I try to live every day to its fullest.

  3. What gorgeous architecture, Jillian, and as always fab photos. This is a city I would certainly love to visit.

  4. Beautiful pictures, and I know you three had a fantastic time. 🙂 So glad you were able to go!!

  5. Wow. That slide show was better at showing me how New Orleans has come back than any newsreel. Thank you. Just one question. What was the powdered sugar coated food? A…what did you call it? Beignets? What ARE those? 🙂

  6. Valerie J. Patterson

    Fabulous photos! Thanks for sharing with us. Never been to New Orleans, but several friends say it is a must take trip. I have family in Bossier City, and will be taking a trip to see them for a wedding. Will have to put New Orleans on the itinerary.

Leave a Reply

