Travel and the Harvest Season

As this blog hits the e-waves, my husband and I are immersed in a long awaited vacation on the east coast of the U.S. and into Canada. As we wind down from the cruise, we will disembark in Quebec City and board a train for Ottawa to visit relatives for a few days before heading home. So I went searching for information about Canada to blog about.

Did you know that today is Thanksgiving Day in Canada? From what I’ve read, Canada’s Thanksgiving Day began in 1872 to celebrate the recovery of the Prince of Wales (later King Edward VII) from a serious illness. Since then, it’s been re-proclaimed a national Day of Thanksgiving for the bountiful harvest. And after years of annually determining what day this holiday would fall on, it settled into the second Monday of October.

So both Canada and the U.S. have Thanksgiving Days that celebrate the harvest. It got me to thinking about harvest celebrations around the world. I found information about a few of them:

United Kingdom – while it’s not listed as a national holiday, “Harvest Festival” is celebrated in September, on a Sunday nearing the harvest moon.
Australia – “Apple and Grape Harvest Festival” is celebrated in March.
Malaysia – the Kadazan harvest festival is celebrated in May to thank the Rice God.
Africa – harvest festivals are mostly held in August and mark the end of the rainy season.

Does anyone know of other harvest celebrations?

Since this week also marked the full moon for the month of October (on the 12th), It feels like a great time to celebrate the harvest. I’m hoping that my husband and I haven’t, um, enjoyed the harvest TOO much on board ship. I’m quite sure I’ll be back to hitting the gym regularly when this trip is over.

But for now, I’m thankful for this opportunity to travel (and that we are healthy enough to make the trip), for the wonderful sights of Fall we have seen, and for my friends here at Over The Backyard Fence who let me come and chat about anything and everything. I hope you’re all having a GREAT week.

posted by Laurie Ryan

Addendum:

Here’s my husband standing in front of a house his ancestors lived in in the 1700’s.

9 responses to “Travel and the Harvest Season

  1. Great post, Laurie. I love the harvest season and learning new traditions is something I love to explore. Thanks for sharing these.

    I hope you are having a marvelous time. We miss you and all wish we could’ve stowed away with you. Can’t wait to see pics and hear about the adventures.

  2. I love this time of year to travel. For me it goes hand in hand with Spring. Are you catching a lot of fall colors? You’re certainly in the right place to see them.
    Looking forward to hearing more about your vacation and pictures, You’ve taken some great ones. I’m thinking of the one on your website which I’ve never gotten tired of seeing.

  3. Just to let everyone know. Like Laurie said, right now they are on a cruise and she doesn’t have access to the internet like she does when in the states. She said to wave hello to all of you and she’ll catch up later.

  4. Happy travels! And how cool that you get to do a Thanksgiving double-dip this year. 🙂

  5. I have a lot of fond memories for Harvest Festivals when we were at school. All the colours, smells and tastes. Something to be thankful for indeed.

    Hope you’re having/had a fab time, Laurie.

  6. Valerie J. Patterson

    Hope you are enjoying your trip, Laurie! I enjoyed your post. Nice to learn some other places have a harvest celebration.

  7. Sounds like you’re having a great time! I’m glad you’re enjoying your vacation! And speaking of which, HECK!, it’s a vacation! Enjoy and don’t worry about any extra pounds gained. They can all be sorted out after you get back home. Keep enjooying that vacation!

    JH!

  8. Yes, we’ve been having a great time. I’ll try to upload a picture that the one we love the most. Mark’s mother’s family emmigrated to Quebec from France and we got a picture of the house the earliest relative here lived in. 🙂 We had turkey and all the trimmings on board ship on Monday. It was great. Only a couple more days and it’s back to home and the normal routine for us.

  9. Love the picture you added since I last looked. COOL!

Leave a Reply

