Spaghetti Alla Carbonara

When I was in Italy, almost every restaurant I went in had Spaghetti alla carbonara. I thought it sounded disgusting. Spaghetti with bacon and eggs? What? I didn’t order it until I went to Venice.

While we were in Venice, my nephew and his wife met us. He’s stationed in Aviano, which is about an hour away. We had lunch and I mentioned that I thought the spaghetti carbonara sounded disgusting. My nephew said he loved it- it’s his favorite Italian food. His wife said it wasn’t like eating breakfast on pasta. The eggs are actually added to the hot pasta and bind to the pasta, they don’t  scramble. So, I ordered it and guess what? It was amazing. So tasty.  And I had it again before I came home.

I don’t have my own recipe for it but here’s a link to one I’ve found and tried. It turns out very well.  This guy, Tyler Florence, is one of my favorite Food Network chefs. He makes his recipes easy to follow. Check it out. http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/tyler-florence/spaghetti-alla-carbonara-recipe/index.html

Lunch in Venice

12 responses to “Spaghetti Alla Carbonara

  1. I can’t think why you’d think it sounded disgusting… oh well. It is awesome though right?! The one you had in Venice looks amazing, would have been nice to see the one you made too 😀

    • It sounded disgusting because I pictured this pasta with an egg over easy sitting on top of it- and the soft yolk oozing on top of it and being a “texture” eater, that picture in my head made me think “ugh”- Mine didn’t look pretty so, no picture. It tasted good but the one in Venice made a better picture.

  2. I believe pasta alla carbonara is the coolest dish to exist in mankind. I don’t mind having pasta alla carbonara anytime

  3. Hmmm. I might not have tried it except that several people have now jumped on the spghetti alla carbonara bandwagon. If it’s got that big a following, it’s got to be good. I’ll add it to my TBT (to be tried) pile which, thankfully, is MUCH smaller than my TBR pile. 🙂

  4. Made the mistake of reading your post when the hunger pangs are threatening, Jillian. Now I want spaghetti alla carbonara and I want it now 🙂

  5. Mmm, Spaghetti Alla Carbonara, and Venice….what could be better. Two classics in their own right. Yum

  6. Our family loves pasta so this is a must try. Though I have to admit if I’d just seen it without the recommendations I would have had the same first impression you did.

Leave a Reply

