Geneology

Is it just me but I’m sure as we get older we become more interested in our ancestry?

A year or two ago I started getting family information from the UK Census. It’s free to use and you can gather a lot of information.

Take the 1901 Census. I looked up my husbands family on his mother’s side. In the one house – 21 Lord Street, Aston in Birmingham we found his Great Grandfather aged 42 as Head of the household. His 2nd wife Isabel aged 39, their daughter Lilian aged 3, plus his daughter by his 1st marriage Rosebella aged 18, her husband Arthur Elkington aged 33, plus two boarders both called Ellen 18 and 20 years of age.

The Census gives so much more information to go on. The places they were born and the type of jobs they did. Coal carter and coal heaver. I don’t know about you but I find this fascinating. I have the Census’s right back to 1871. The 1911 Census is now available, and I can’t wait to discover more.

Speaking from personal experience they can reveal many skeleton’s in the closet, but that’s a different story entirely. πŸ™‚

13 responses to “Geneology

  1. I love reading about family history. Researching it, not so much. I’m very lucky to have other family members who’ve been digging into it. I get to reap the benefits of their hard work. One person has gotten back 10 generations on one side of our family. It’s amazing! Kudos to you for diving in and gathering this information. It’s fun to see our family roots. Well, unless there are skeletons in the closet, as you mention. lol

    • Yes, it’s certainly turned up the skeletons, Laurie.

      We have found bigamy and a whole charade of lies. As several of the family members are still alive I can’t say who it is. The older generation seem to get upset by such things, but I think it all adds to the individual, making them seem a lot more interesting than their status originally implied.

  2. My cousin is researching our family tree and it’s fascinating I’m sort of secretly hoping for something a little infamous to turn up πŸ˜‰

    • Hi, Tricia

      Every time I watch ‘Who Do You Think You Are’, I’m amazed at what they find. I guess if you keep looking you’re bound to find something. There’s always a black sheep lurking in there somewhere. πŸ™‚

  3. …secretly hoping for somthing a little infamous to turn up? You crack me up, Tricia. That must be the story weaver’s instinct in you. πŸ™‚

  4. My brothers and I explore with fascination, various avenues for tracing our ancestors. We had no interest is such things when young. So you are not alone in having geneology interest pique later in life. Thanks for this tip. I’ll pass it on the my brother who does most of the hunting.

  5. Jan, your blog was very timely for me. I just got back from brunch with my cousin who’s in the process of putting together a family tree for an upcoming reunion. No small job.

    And, Tricia I had a good chuckle of your comment confessing for hoping for a little something to turn up.

  6. I love geneology. I have one side of my fmaily back to the 1200s- my great aunt, the librarian, did all the work- bless her. We have a couple of Lords Mayor of London in our family line- haven’t heard any stories of wildness and debauchery but I’m sure they are there somewhere. My family couldn’t be all staid and produce some of the folks they have produced. LOL!

    great post.

    • Wow, Jillian, being able to trace your family history back to the 1200’s is no mean feat…and very time consuming. Fancy that, Lord Mayor of London. Present day it is considered a top job!

  7. OhYeah, Jan! Geneological research IS fascinating. And FUN! (IIt can take a lot of time and leg work, though.)

    JH!

Leave a Reply

