Sisters

Today, two of my sisters have birthdays. No, they’re not twins. They were born years apart. And I love them both. I do, however, need to give a special nod to my sister, Kathy, today. I was a real tomboy growing up. While my older sisters learned about clothes (and boys), I was busy playing neighborhood games with my little brothers.

Kathy is four years older than me. And because of that, she bore the brunt of babysitting duties once she was old enough. And I was the holy terror she had to watch. I don’t know why I didn’t like it, other than the fact that I probably thought I was old enough to babysit myself. I gave her a lot of grief during her tenure.

Once, I even threatened to run away. Got a brown paper bag out of the kitchen drawer and packed my clothes. And then, for some strange reason, I waited until Mom and Dad got home to inform them I was running away and it was all Kathy’s fault. 🙂

Dad took the thunder out of my sails by telling me to go ahead and run away if I wanted, but that I couldn’t run to Grandma’s house. Of course, that’s where I planned to “run” to. She only lived a short ways away. So, after some significant thought, I grabbed my brown paper bag and marched back up the stairs to the room I shared with my sisters.

Now, I’m sure Kathy and I had other fights. What sisters didn’t? We shared a room until she left for college. But all of that has faded as adult life has progressed. And I found, as I grew up, that my sister is really one of the most amazing people I’ve ever met.

She has principles and she sticks by them.
She has this amazing ability to see all sides of a discussion and then pick out the important parts of it. I rely on her wisdom more than I think I’ve ever told her.
She has had some challenges tossed at her and met them each with grace and fortitude.
She loves unconditionally.

And I’m so grateful she is my sister. I don’t think I tell her that well enough or often enough. How about you? Do you have siblings? Do they rock your world like mine do my world? I hope so. It makes life so much easier when you have someone to rely on, to run ideas past, to rant about the world with.

Happy birthday, sisters!
posted by Laurie Ryan

10 responses to “Sisters

  1. What a lovely acknowledgement to your sister. I hope she reads this posting – I am certain she values you as much as you do her. Thanks for sharing.

  2. You are so fortunate to have your family. And, they are fortunate to have you.

  3. I have a brother 3 years older, and a brother 6 years my junior. Both very different people, they enrich my life by just being alive. Closer now after Hubby and I cared for Mom in my home, I see them several times a year, though we live many miles apart. My “sisters”, I acquired through rich friendships, but I think a sister sharing your environment growing up, would live in a special heartfelt place. So! Happy birthday to your sisters from a stranger!

  4. Hi, everyone. I was en route home from a vacation yesterday so didn’t have a chance to answer your lovely comments. My husband and I headed out to ride a couple of steam trains (one of his hobbies) in Brittish Columbia and stayed at a wonderful little B&B. A nice, fun, relaxing few days.

    Barb, yes, my sister will eventually read this. She and her husband opted to take off for a few days just before this came out, but she’ll see it eventually. I hope she doesn’t mind me putting her up on that pedestal for all to see. 🙂

    Lavada, I know you have a family like mine. Supportive and always in touch. We’re pretty darn lucky, aren’t we? 🙂

    Marion, there are all sorts of ways to define sister. I’m glad you’ve found friends you are that close to. And, having two younger brothers, I know how special they can be, too. At least, now that we’re all grown up, eh? 🙂
    Thanks for stopping by!
    Laurie

  5. Valerie J. Patterson

    Laurie, that was a wonderfully warm tribute to your sister. Familial bonds bind hearts tightly together. I enjoyed the run away story. I ran away once…to my basement! I have two sisters–1 older and 1 younger–and a younger brother. Siblings are a blessing!

  6. Haha – to the basement, huh? Our “world” was a whole lot smaller back then, eh? And you’re right. Siblings are a blessing. I had to grow up to realize that, but I love them all.

  7. I, too, loved the runaway story, Laurie, and all your possessions in a brown paper bag. Hilarious. You’re very lucky to have such precious relationships with your sisters.

  8. Hi, Tricia! You’re right. It is hilarious in hindsight. 🙂 And yep. I’m very lucky to have the family and relationships I do.

  9. What a fun post. I like your memories- esp the running away part. I ran away once and a cop brought me home. I was a little kid and my mom wouldn’t let me go play with my friend so I went anyway- LOL!

    I have one sister and we had our share of growing pains but we are close now, too. I’m grateful for her and I know you are for yours.

  10. Sisters ROCK! 🙂

Leave a Reply

