Waaaay Over the Fence

I was way over the fence this past month as I traveled to Italy with my younger son. When I was between my first and second year of college, I traveled to Europe with my parents and I have great memories of that trip. When my oldest son was between his junior and senior year of high school, he went to Europe with a group of 25 students. I asked the younger son if he wanted to do the same thing between his junior and senior year of high school. He informed me that he didn’t want to go with a bunch of “nerds”- rather, he wanted me to take him. After I got over my joy at being a step above a nerd, I started planning the trip.

I was a bit disappointed that he only wanted to go to Italy, but since it was his trip, I settled in for the ride. It was a great deal of fun and I’l always treasure this time I spent with him.

He loves art and music so he was in heaven. He was quite attracted to one painter’s work in Venice and we bought a painting from the guy. It’s lovely- impressionistic in look. The texture is amazing. It’s at the frame shop now but I can show you the picture of my son with the artist. I think this photo is great and we’re attaching it to the back of the canvas so he’ll always know where it is.

A grand time, but I’m glad to be back in my own backyard and peering over the fence at you all.

18 responses to “Waaaay Over the Fence

  1. Strange but nice to hear your son only wanted to see Italy! I’m sure he wasn’t disappointed with our country. There is a lot to see in Italy, but there’s equally much in the rest of Europe πŸ™‚ Hope you’ll like your future trips too!

    • He loved your country as do I. I took 4 years of Latin in high school and fell in love with the ancient culture. It’s a lovely country. Thanks for the good wishes for future travel.

  2. i love the windy streets of venice, he has good taste!
    http://sandbetweentoes.wordpress.com/

  3. Such a great experience and cherished moments for the two of you. It made me smile!

  4. I’m enjoying your trip vicariously by following your blogs. Your blog title “Romantic Adventure with an International Flair” says it all.

  5. Glad you enjoyed your trip, and what a wonderful time to spend it with your son. I’m sure you have lots of wonderful memories to keep. Jan x

  6. Ahhh! What a nice son you have. I’m so glad you got this time together. I’m also (selfishly) very glad to have you back on this side of the pond. πŸ™‚

  7. Valerie J. Patterson

    What an amazing son you have to want to share something so precious with you, his mom! I can just imagine the memories you’ll both have to treasure for years to come.

  8. How lovely to spend such quality time with your son, Jillian. Precious memories for you both and in such a beautiful land.

  9. How wonderful you were able to take that trip with your son, Jillian! And that he chose *you* over his peers!!

    JH!

Leave a Reply

