Book Review – Letters From Home by Kristina McMorris

A five star read and more.

I won this book at the Tacoma Reader’s group. Would I have picked it up on my own? Ummm, not sure for one thing after reading the blurb I really didn’t think the plot could sustain 360 pages. Oh My Gosh, was I wrong. When I read “THE END”, I felt I was saying goodbye to friends. I felt so strongly I even wrote to the author encouraging her to write a sequel.

Here are some of the things that other authors are saying. Kristin Hannah, “Letters from Home is an absolutely lovely debut novel filled with endearing characters and lively descriptions. Fans of World War II romantic fiction will definitely enjoy this fast-paced story.”

Jill Barnett, “An intimate, touching, and romantic story of the Greatest Generation.”

These are but two. Set in WWII it is romantic, and tragic. So many lives were literally ripped apart. The secondary characters are strong and I’d love to read Betty and Julia’s continued story as well as follow Morgan and Liz. Again, in my opinion, this book begs for a sequel. And, this time I’ll be first in line to purchase it.

Note: I wrote this review just after I finished reading Letters From Home. Since then I’ve had the opportunity to meet Kristina. She’s fantastic, warm, funny, personal, she fully engages her listeners. She has got more stories to tell, if there’s a book signing or speaking event featuring her in your area it’s a don’t miss opportunity. I’d say Kristina is as good a speaker as author but I’m not sure anything can top her book. Wellllll maybe another book.

7 responses to “Book Review – Letters From Home by Kristina McMorris

  1. I’ve had the opportunity to meet Kristina, also. She’s wonderful, as is Letters From Home. I felt like I got three stories in one and they were all amazing. Thanks for the reminder of this excellent book.

  2. Sounds an interesting read. Always lovely to be surprised by a story which is unexpectedly good. Haven’t read much WW2 romantic fiction, but will put this on the TBR list. Thanks, Lavada.

  3. I’ll add this one to my TBR list, too. Sounds a really good read. Thanks for sharing, Lavada

  4. If only every Monday morning could kick off with an incredible review like this! 🙂

    Thank you soo much for your generous feedback. I’m absolutely thrilled you enjoyed the read. Perhaps I should seriously think about writing that sequel now….ha.

    Also, thanks again to the Tacoma Readers’ Group for hosting my visit. What a delightful group. I look forward to seeing all of you again next year!!

  5. Sounds like you really enjoyed it. I love books where I feel like I’d want to be friends with the characters. This sounds like one of these. Thanks!

  6. Thanks for the comments. And, Kristina if you do a sequel let us know as soon as possible. It’s hard to believe this was your debut novel. Great things are in store for you.

  7. Valerie J. Patterson

    Gosh! My TBR pile is so large now, adding one more won’t do any harm. Sounds like a great way to pass a quiet Saturday.

Leave a Reply

