Conference recap

It’s Friday and it’s my blog day…and I almost forgot. Sigh. 🙂  I thought I’d post some final comments today about my experiences at the national writer’s conference I went to.

It was an amazing experience for me. I learned things about myself, about the craft of writing, and about the industry.

I learned an amazing method for writing a first draft in two weeks (thank you, Candace Haven). I learned how to tie emotional arcs to story arcs (compliments of Michael Hauge).

I learned that what most people are seeing in this industry is true. That ebooks are revolutionizing it, but that paper books will never disappear. I love my ereader (nook), but I also love the smell and feel of a paperback book. I think I will always be a dual reader, using my nook for the ease of reading and paperbacks for nostalgia and library purposes. I am one of those folks that holds on to those five star books. You know, the ones you can’t put down?

I also learned some things about myself. I’ve always wanted to travel somewhere alone. To be free to read, or write, or do whatever I wanted to during flights. I found out that, while I CAN travel alone, I don’t necessarily like it. That I DO like traveling with my husband. And that’s an important thing to learn, since we’re no where near done seeing places we want to see.

And I learned that small talk is still not my forte. I get nervous in social situations and do much better one on one. Even with that, though, I have to say folks at the conference were very friendly, asking how my first experience was going (I was wearing a “first timer” ribbon).  All in all, it was an awesome time and I’m very glad I went.

And Jillian, LOVED hanging with you, crazy woman! And I can hardly wait for your book to come out in a week.

Finally, since you all helped me through the angst of finding a formal for the awards banquet, I thought you had the right to see the final product. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

TGIF, everyone! Now back to normal life, and normal blogs, for me.    

posted by Laurie Ryan

11 responses to “Conference recap

  1. I’m so glad you shared this experience with us. You did great with the outfit it really looks good on you. I know what you mean about traveling solo. I’ve done it a lot and while I CAN do it, I prefer going with Jack. He’s a great traveler so I’m a bit spoiled there. And knowing Mark, I’d say the same thing of him.

    Welcome back home. Now you can rest up for your next trip.

  2. I’m glad you learned all these great things and that your solo trip was a success. You did great with the small talk and you look beautiful in your formal. I missed you in the crowd that night. It was crazy in there.

    Had such fun with you and who knows, I may venture out your way some day and drive you and Lavada nuts. LOL! I’m so glad we got to meet in person and share the fun.

  3. Janette Harjo

    Nice looking final product, Laurie! I posted a comment on your original blog where you were at conference, but I never saw it; did you? And on a final note, I’ve found that I really LIKE to travel alone! I love the freedom it provides. :)) But that’s NOT saying that I do not like to travel with my bf! I really LIKE to travel that way, too!

    JH!

  4. Looks like you all have a great time. Love the outfit you chose, Laurie.

  5. Jillian,
    Come on out!

    Janette,
    It was very interesting finding out that I really do prefer to have someone with me when I head out. But it’s definitely nice to know I can handle it on my own. It had been a lot of years since I’ve had to do that. Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Jilliian, echoing Laurie. “Come On Out” We’d love to show you around.

  7. I’m putting it on my to-do list, Laurie and Lavada.

  8. You look absolutely lovely Laurie and I am so happy that not only did you have the opportunity to experience that but that it was enlightening:).

  9. Thanks, Michal! It was AWESOME!

  10. A belated “you look fab” Laurie. And Candace Havens…did an online workshop with her and I “heart” her to pieces.

  11. Thanks, Tricia! Candace is phenomenal, isn’t she?

Leave a Reply

