Food Fun Monday – Coffee and Comfort Food

posted by Laurie Ryan

It’s the last Monday of the month and I’m supposed to be doing a book review. The problem is, I got back from vacation about 9PM last night and I am woefully unprepared. As I’m sitting here waiting for the coffee to quit perking so I can have my first cup of the day, I got to wondering if my husband and I would ever settle on a favorite coffee brand. We’ve been bouncing around a while looking for a coffee we’re both in love with. He leans toward mild and I like robust, so finding the right brand that meets in some middle ground is difficult. This weekend, though, we bought some Dunkin’ Donuts coffee and it comes pretty darn close. πŸ™‚ So while I wake up with some really great coffee, I’ll ask you all if you are coffee or tea drinkers (or neither) and if you have a particular brand you love. AND, as a bonus, since I was supposed to have a spectactular book review for you, I’ll offer comfort food as a consolation prize…my mother’s chocolate chip cookies. Yum!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 teaspoon baking soda
  • chocolate chips
  • nuts (if desired)

Cream together butter, sugars and vanilla. Beat and add egg. Stir in flour, salt, and baking soda. Add chocolate chips and nuts. Drop by teaspoonfuls onto baking sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for about 12 minutes.

9 responses to “Food Fun Monday – Coffee and Comfort Food

  1. Welcome home Laurie. Coffee ummm, I’m a big coffee drinker. Probably to much so. I started young. I was really close to my father and he started the day in bed with a cup. I would join Mom and Dad on a lot of their mornings. He drank it with sugar so I did too until I got old enough to realize I didn’t like it that way. Mom and dad always lingered with coffee after meals so I did too. Coffee was a part of our family, a time for sharing and I developed a taste for it.

    As for a favorite coffee. I recently got some Veritas coffee beans. Grinding them fresh adds flavor. Not sure I have a real favorite but this is pretty close.

  2. Veritas, eh? I’ll add it to my “try it out” list. πŸ™‚ I love that coffee has such fond memories for you. No wonder you enjoy it so much. πŸ™‚

  3. YUM!!! Sorry about the book review but glad to see the yummy recipe. Hope you had a nice trip.

    I love the Dunkin Donuts coffee, too AND my son got himself through all the late nights in architecture school with it. It’s his favorite.

  4. We did. We flew down to San Diego to see our daughter and meet her new boyfriend, of which we heartily approve. πŸ™‚ Now we’re back in gray weather, so coffee was first and foremost on my mind this morning. πŸ™‚

  5. I’m one who had never cared for the taste of coffee bc it wa too fattening with all the cream and sugar I had to add to make it palatable (until I got introduced to Starbuck’s Mocha’s!)But their mocha’s, just like the coffee of before turned out to be too high calorie, so I quit drinking it. Now they’ve introduced me to a new one called Vanilla Fushions (or something like that) and I like it w/o cream and sugar! (It’s only sold in the coffee section of stores, not in SB)

    And speaking of calories, thanks for the chocolate chip cookie recipe! LOL!

  6. Hi, Janette! Aren’t you a tea drinker? What teas do you like? And you’re welcome for the calorie laden cookie recipe. πŸ™‚

  7. In the UK we drink mainly tea. Though there are plenty of coffee houses springing up such as Starbucks ~ which I really enjoy when on a shopping trip.

    Unfortunately, we have a tendency to use instant coffee which I find unsatisfactory.

    A good, hot cup of tea first thing in the morning ~ you can’t beat it πŸ™‚

    ….Those who live in the US, I’m sure will disagree πŸ˜‰

  8. I am slowly becoming a tea drinker. I’ve found a natural sweetner (Stevia) I like. So now I have tea in the evenings. I expect that it will slowly take over my coffee habit. πŸ™‚

  9. YUP! Have Stevia, Will Travel! LOL! (I keep a pkg or two in my purse)

    JH!

Leave a Reply

