Glorious Chelsea

The Chelsea Flower Show is now in full swing here in the UK. It’s held every year in May, runs for five days and is considered one of the most famous gardening shows in the world. Run by the Royal Horticultural Society (RHS), it takes place in the grounds of the Royal Hospital in Chelsea, London. The show attracts well over 150,000 visitors and this number is limited only because of the ground’s capacity.

As part of the royal patronage of the RHS, members of the Royal Family attend a preview of the show and the show itself is a favourite venue for celebrities who are often snapped alongside the exhibits, especially if they have a new type of flower named after them.

Tickets are always much sought after and the show sells out pretty quickly. I didn’t get a ticket this year, but there’s great coverage on TV so I’ve still managed to have my annual fix. On the show’s website, there’s a great feature called “Take Chelsea Home” which offers ideas for getting the “Chelsea look” in your own garden. I’m especially interested in attracting more wildlife into my garden, so I’m particularly interested in the ideas to get the garden buzzing with life. Also trying my hand at growing vegetables this year and have planted tomatoes, runner beans, spinach, lettuce and soft fruit bushes. Fingers crossed.

Now I’m off to dream about what flower I’d like to have named after me…hmm, I think, because I love spring, it would have to be a soft lilac tulip tinged with white, but then I love summer too, so maybe a terracotta rose basking in the sunlight and enjoying the warmth.

What flower would you choose to have named after you?

6 responses to “Glorious Chelsea

  1. Tricia,
    How cool! We have some small flower shows, and a wonderful public rose garden in our area, but nothing at this level. What a cool event. As for what flower I’d like to have named after me? Hmmm. How about something fragrant and feminine like a new type of lilac? 🙂

  2. I love seeing a glimpse of the UK through your posts. This event is far bigger than anything over here and what a great kick off for summer. Not that we seem to be getting there this year.

    I think I’d like a rose named after me. Maybe red, and one that does equally well cut as in the garden. Some are so pretty but fall apart in a bouquet.

  3. Lovely. Would love to go someday. I’ve always loved seeing the magazine and internet articles on it.

    I love white flowers of any sort. So, I’d pick some white bud to be named after me.

  4. A new type of lilac, eh Laurie? Fragrant and feminine. Bet the “Laurie Ryan” would be an instant success.

    No sign of summer here either, Lavada. Hope June yields better. I agree about cut flowers performing as well as in the garden.

    I’m hoping to go next year, Jillian, just need to get my application in quicker. I imagine you would love it, both as a gardener and photographer.

  5. Hi, Tricia

    Great post. When I lived in London for 3 years, I always wanted to go, but never did. One or two of my friends did go on the last day. They picked up some wonderful bargains as the exhibitors sold off their displays.

    I think I’d pick a viola. I always think their flowers have smiling faces.

  6. Ah yes, Jan. I’d forgotten about the bargains on the last day. One of the best parts of the event, too.

Leave a Reply

